A Court of Thorns and Roses Masquerade Ball – The Fashion

A Court of Thorns and Roses Masquerade Ball - The Fashion

definition

Masquerade Balls are truly magical events. There is something truly inspiring about the ability to let your imagination run wild when it comes to fashion. There is a no-holds bard for fashion and a Masquerade and A Court of Thorns and Roses falls perfectly in line with this.

Truly I had a lot of fun dressing the 5 integral characters, Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, Rhysand and Amarantha, for the A Court of Thorns and Roses Masquerade Ball. Each character brought their own personality and vibe to the table which made picking out clothes and masks for them both easy and difficult because I couldn’t narrow it down.

 

rhys

Rhysand is a very flashy and showy kind of character. He isn’t shy about knowing how attractive he is so when I came across this look of a dressed, but half dressed model in a flashy gold coat I knew it was perfect for him. He isn’t the least bit timid so it is within reason that he would what to show  off some of his toned body and then would keep his mask simple enough but still powerful.

 

lucien

Lucien, the loveable sidekick. He is a very funny guy with a quirky personality. When I came across this suit of pattern mixing I knew it was all him. He would be able to pull it off with no one even batting an eye at him. And the mask, well if you read the book you will understand why I picked that mask. Honestly I think it was made for him.

 

tamlin

Tamlin, oh Tamlin. There is no hiding he is my favorite of the 3 boys. #TeamTAMLINforLIFE. But he was also one of the hardest of the boys for me to dress. I wanted to give him justice. When I was searching I found his mask first. A simple green mask with gold seemed perfect for Fae from the Spring Court. But his outfit had to be perfect. It had to be no fuss but powerful. Tam is a nice guy but he also is a powerful guy and I needed the clothes to show that. And then I came across this model. This look SCREAMED Tamlin to me. The suit underneath is nothing special. It is a perfectly tailored grey pants and vest. But the coat, that coat is what stood out as Tamlin. You could rule a country in that coat and that is exactly what I picture my Tamlin doing.

 

Amarantha1

Amarantha. She is one mysterious character, but a huge part of A Court of Thorns and Roses. She is part of the Night Court and very very powerful. I don’t want to say too much about her but I think the shoes and the dress convey a lot. She is a powerhouse and very scary. Basically I wouldn’t want to run into her in a dark alley…a light one either.

 

feyre

Feyre was by far the HARDEST on the 5 to dress. There were just so many options for her. I saw more dresses that I would want and that I could picture her wearing than I thought possible. But as I started to narrow them down I saw this gorgeous gown and it sung to me. It said spring, as did the butterfly shoes and butterfly mask. And since a good chunk of the book takes place in the Spring Court it was the theme I chose to follow. Plus I’m kind of in love with the back of the dress and that mask.

But like I said, there were a ton of dress options I came across. And although I picked the flower one I wanted to share a few that were also in the running because HELLO GORGEOUS!

feyre1.1

So there you have it, my take on what the 5 important characters would wear. Sarah at What Sarah Read styled looks for what she thinks all seven courts would wear and they are fabulous. Make sure you head over to her blog today and take a look.

If you had to dress Feyre which of the dresses would you pick?

BLOG TOUR STOPS

May 5: Perpetual Page Turner – Blog Tour Kick Off with Sarah!
May 5: Lili’s Reflections – Top Five Fairytale Retellings
May 5: Words Read and Written
May 6: Bookish Broads – Lightning Round

May 6: Dark Readers
May 6: Fiction in Fiction in Fiction
May 7: Paper Riot – An Interview with Sarah

May 8: Polished Page-Turners – Would You Rather…
May 8: So Many Books, So Little Time
May 8: Behind the Pages

The Masquerade Ball!
May 11: Novel Sounds & Alexa Loves Books – The Soundtrack
May 12: Icey Books & That Artsy Reader Girl – The Decorations
May 13: Jenuine Cupcakes & Writer of Wrongs – The Food
May 14: What Sarah Read & Andi’s ABCs – The Clothing
May 15: Fiction Fare & Belle of the Literati – The Casting Call

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses Masquerade Ball – The FashionA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Published by Bloomsbury USA
Published: May 5th 2015
Add to Goodreads

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a USA Today and international bestselling author. Sarah wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in thirty-five languages. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. Empire of Storms, the fifth Throne of Glass novel.

She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*all clothing was found on Pinterest.

You may also like

14 Comments

  1. Look at all those pretty dresses! I think Feyre would totally be wearing that gold number at some point in the story. It sounds a little like one of the things she wore….though more of the scroll work than fabric.

    Lucian was also my favorite character. I do love a good sidekick.

    Overall I think you totally nailed ALL THE LOOKS!! Well done Miss Andi….well done.

  2. You did a fantastic job with this post and dressing all of the characters! I love the dress you picked for Feyre, but I also really like that ice blue one too. Just something about it.

    Well done, Miss Andi!

  3. Rapunzel, Cinderella, and Beauty and the Beast are my favorites and I love them all for different reasons. I love the Rapunzel’s story because it’s so redemptive in the sense that even though people make mistakes (i.e. her parents), love can win out. I love Cinderella because she’s gentle and kind, and hopeful. Finally, I love Belle because she’s smart, brave, faithful, and clever. All of these fairytales are my favorites because they each hold something that I either want out of life or who I want to be in it.
    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!

  4. Girl you nailed it! ( of course) all of those shoes are killer!! I love every single on of the dresses you chose for Feyre! That would have killed me to choose too but you did well. This was such s fun post! I love it when fashion and bookish things make babies!
    ❤️Britt
    Ps sooo soon I will be squishing you!!

    Brittany T recently posted: Review: Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly
  5. AH, wow everything about this post is gorgeous, especially a fan of Feyre’s and Amarantha’s dresses+mask. Amarantha’s design just screams her personality.

  6. I haven’t read the book yet, but all the pretty accessories make me want to dive in! I’ve heard so many good things lately that I’ve definitely moved this one up the TBR list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.