TBR – Upcoming Reads

I sometimes, all the time, get stressed out by the shear amount of books I own or want to read. It can be very overwhelming to look at all the options available to me. Because of this I often forget that I want to read something and then start something else. It is a vicious cycle and I try desperately to break it. I have yet to be successful but I still try. Will that being said there are 6 books that are high on my TBR priority list. Wonder how this will go.

 

TBR – Upcoming ReadsJane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
on September 19th 2017
Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLittle & Lion by Brandy Colbert
on August 8th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself--or worse.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsWicked Sexy Liar (Wild Seasons, #4) by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books
on February 2nd 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

When three college besties meet three hot guys in Vegas, anything can—and does—happen. Book Four in the New York Times Wild Seasons series that began with Sweet Filthy Boy (the Romantic Times book of the year that Sylvia Day called “a sexy, sweet treasure of a story”), Dirty Rowdy Thing, and Dark Wild Night.

For two people ambivalent about dating and love, they sure get naked around each other an awful lot . . .

London Hughes is very content to surf daily, tend bar, hang out with her group of friends, and slowly orient herself in the years after college. Everything’s going great and according to the non-plan.

But when a wave knocks her for a loop one morning, then Luke Sutter’s flirtatious smile knocks her for another that evening, she veers slightly off course…and into his path. Sure, he’s a total player, but the Why not—it’s only one night is a persistent voice in her ear.

For his part, Luke’s been on hookup autopilot for so long that he rarely ever pauses to consider what he’s doing. But after an amazing time with London, he realizes that he hasn’t been moving on from a devastating heartbreak so much as he’s been drifting to wherever—and whomever—the current takes him. With London he wants more.

Every relationship involves two people…plus their pasts. And as much as she enjoys her fling with Luke, when London learns about his past—more specifically, who’s in it—everything becomes the brand of complicated she strives to avoid. It’s up to Luke then to change some things in order to try and ensure he’s not something she’ll outright avoid as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLove Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsThe Knowing (The Forgetting, #2) by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
on October 10th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Samara doesn't forget. And she isn't the only one. Safe underground in the city of New Canaan, she lives in a privileged world free from the Forgetting. Yet she wonders if she really is free, with the memories that plague her and secrets that surround her. Samara is determined to unearth the answers, even if she must escape to the old, cursed city of Canaan to find them.

Someone else is on their way to Canaan too . . . a spaceship from Earth is heading toward the planet, like a figment of the city's forgotten past. Beck is traveling with his parents, researchers tasked with finding the abandoned settlement effort. When Beck is stranded without communication, he will find more in Canaan than he was ever trained for. What will happen when worlds and memories, beliefs -- and truths -- collide?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsReign the Earth (The Elementae, #1) by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
on January 30th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s coming up on you TBR? Have you read any of these?

Continue Reading

Waiting For…

I’m aware it is only July of 2017. In my mind I know there are plenty of books coming out in the next months that I am desperate to read. But if I’m honest I keep looking at my 2018 book list on Goodreads and getting all the book envy. There are so many books coming out in 2018 and I’m dying for them all. I mean there is the given, the 7th book in the Throne of Glass series and the announce 4th book in the ACOTAR series, plus the Meet Cute compilation, but there are some series that are starting and ending and plain old books by authors I love. Really, is there anything wrong with being excited for 2018 and all the amazing books that will be released? I think not.

Currently I have 28 books on my 2018 TBR, but I thought I would showcase the 6 I’m super excited for:

 

Waiting For…Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
on January 30th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…The Complication by Suzanne Young
Published by Simon Pulse
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this sixth novel in the New York Times bestselling Program series from Suzanne Young.

Every cure has a cost.

Tatum Masterson learned this after years of being monitored by The Program. She witnessed it when her boyfriend, Wes, came back changed, erased. And now, even the newest “cure” has a heavy cost—one she and Wes paid.

The Adjustment came into Tatum’s life just when she thought she needed it most, a promise for Wes to get back his forgotten memories. But when the procedure went wrong, a revelation shattered everything Tatum thought she knew.

Now, with no one left to trust, Tatum must find out what really happened last summer. And with the help of the boyfriend she lost, Tatum will have to dig into the past and future of The Program and its handlers.

And discover the true cost of a cure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Heart on Fire by Amanda Bouchet
on January 2nd 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

The riveting conclusion to the Kingmaker Chronicles, available January 2018!

Who is Catalia Fisa?With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.

Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step--reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.

What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger...we hope.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury Children's
on March 6th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

From the author of Letters to the Lost comes a heart-wrenching story of two teens with big secrets and a love that could set them free.

Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett
Published by Simon Pulse
on April 3rd 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

In this romantic dramedy from the author of Alex, Approximately, a teen girl’s way-too-ordinary life is driven off the beaten path when she’s abandoned in the wilderness with her worst adversary—the boy who broke her heart.

Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best friends-turned-best enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern day, Californian version of the Montagues and Capulets.

But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.

What could go wrong?

With no one but each other for company, Zorie and Lennon have no choice but to hash out their issues via witty jabs and insults as they try to make their way to safety. But fighting each other while also fighting off the forces of nature makes getting out of the woods in one piece less and less likely.

And as the two travel deeper into Northern California’s rugged backcountry, secrets and hidden feelings surface. But can Zorie and Lennon’s rekindled connection survive out in the real world? Or was it just a result of the fresh forest air and the magic of the twinkling stars?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are you excited for any of these in 2018? What books do I need to have on my TBR that may be an Andi book?

Continue Reading

Reviews: The Scarlet Series – A.C. Gaughen

Reviews: The Scarlet Series – A.C. GaughenScarlet by A.C. Gaughen
Series: Scarlet #1
Published by Walker Childrens
on February 14th 2012
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon, Goodreads

Will Scarlet is good at two things: stealing from the rich and keeping secrets - skills that are in high demand in Robin Hood's band of thieves, who protect the people of Nottingham from the evil sheriff. Scarlet's biggest secret of all is one only Robin and his men know...that she is posing as a thief; that the slip of a boy who is fast with sharp knives is really a girl.
The terrible events in her past that led Scarlet to hide her real identity are in danger of being exposed when the thief taker Lord Gisbourne arrives in town to rid Nottingham of the Hood and his men once and for all. As Gisbourne closes in a put innocent lives at risk, Scarlet must decide how much the people of Nottingham mean to her, especially John Little, a flirtatious fellow outlaw, and Robin, whose quick smiles have the rare power to unsettle her. There is real honor among these thieves and so much more - making this a fight worth dying for.

Review

I read Scarlet a while ago. I had had it on my TBR shelf for a long time, signed no less, but had never gotten to it. After being strongly urged to do it I did and I really liked it. I had trouble with the dialect originally. It is written in a way that is slightly hard to get comfortable with until you don’t even notice it as the book progresses. I guess what I liked best about Scarlet was actually Scarlet herself. She was such a strong female lead in a men’s world that you can’t help but like her. I didn’t always like her choices and her actions, but I knew what she was trying to do. And I loved her relationship with Rob. The end kind of broke me and although this wasn’t my favorite of the series it made me want to read book 2.

Reviews: The Scarlet Series – A.C. GaughenLady Thief by A.C. Gaughen
Series: Scarlet #2
Published by Walker Childrens
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon, Goodreads

Scarlet’s true identity has been revealed, but her future is uncertain. Her forced marriage to Lord Gisbourne threatens Robin and Scarlet’s love, and as the royal court descends upon Nottingham for the appointment of a new Sheriff, the people of Nottingham hope that Prince John will appoint their beloved Robin Hood. But Prince John has different plans for Nottingham that revolve around a fateful secret from Scarlet’s past even she isn’t yet aware of. Forced to participate at court alongside her ruthless husband, Scarlet must bide her time and act the part of a noblewoman—a worthy sacrifice if it means helping Robin’s cause and a chance at a future with the man she loves. With a fresh line of intrigue and as much passion as ever, the next chapter in Scarlet’s tale will have readers talking once again.

Review

Lady Thief took me a while to read and it wasn’t because I didn’t want to see what would happen to Rob, Scarlet, John, Much and the townspeople. It was because I was told the ending was a doozy and you would need Lion Heart almost immediately after completion. So I waited and waited and waited. And then I read it and loved it. It was a completely different book than Scarlet. Scarlet was almost this new character in Lady Thief and I loved seeing this layer of her. She had to deal with consequences for something she had done in Scarlet and it opened her eyes to a life she didn’t know what hers, nor did she really want. I loved seeing how things changed between her and Rob and how those changes affected what she did or the choices she made. I also liked knowing more about Scarlet’s background. And that ending! Oh that ending!

Reviews: The Scarlet Series – A.C. GaughenLion Heart by A.C. Gaughen
Series: Scarlet #3
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Amazon, Goodreads

The eagerly-awaited conclusion to the Scarlet trilogy delivers another action-packed and romance-filled adventure.Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape from the Prince's clutches, she learns that King Richard’s life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine demands a service Scarlet can’t refuse: spy for her and help bring Richard home safe. But fate—and her heart—won’t allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long, and together, Scarlet and Rob must stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England. They can not rest until he’s stopped, but will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

Lion Heart was by far my favorite of the 3 book series. As the plot progressed I thought Gaughen’s story got better and better and culminated in a book that felt pretty perfect, not only as a series ender, but as an exclamation on a great set of books. This book terrified me to read. After what happened in both Scarlet and Lady Thief I was legit afraid what would happen to the people I had grown to know and love. I had a pit in my stomach the whole time and for good reason. But Annie did an excellent job with Lion Heart. She tied up things that needed to be tied up and left some stuff open as it takes on a different historical context. It was utterly fantastic. It crushed my soul but I also loved every minute.

final

In conclusion the series was fantastic. Scarlet was a character that you don’t think has many layers when you meet her and then her story grows and you see she is very complicated and that there is more to her. Each book in the story changes her in some way and it makes her a better person even when it is a hardship or something truly awful that happens to her. And Rob, he and Scarlet together are unstoppable. What am I saying? This is a series you don’t want to miss.

Oh and that dialect that I had trouble with in that beginning? I was speaking it to a friend in the end. It gets into your pores and makes the story authentic feeling.

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: Casting Couch for Lion Heart – A.C. Gaughen {Giveaway}

lionheart

 

Blog Tour: Casting Couch for Lion Heart – A.C. Gaughen {Giveaway}Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing USA
on May 19th 2015
Amazon, Goodreads

Scarlet has captured the hearts of readers as well as the heart of Robin Hood, and after ceaseless obstacles and countless threats, readers will finally find out the fate of the Lady Thief.

Only the greatest loves can survive great danger. . .

Imprisoned by Prince John for months, Scarlet finds herself a long way from Nottinghamshire. After a daring escape, she learns that King Richard's life is in jeopardy, and Eleanor of Aquitaine needs Scarlet's help to free him. For a lifelong thief, this newfound allegiance to the crown-her family-is a strange feeling.

Scarlet knows that helping Eleanor will put her and those she loves back in Prince John's sights. Desperate not to risk anyone's life but her own, Scarlet formulates a plan to help save the king on her own. But fate-and her heart-won't allow her to stay away from Nottinghamshire for long. Even if Scarlet and Rob can together stop Prince John from going through with his dark plans for England, will their love be enough to save them once and for all?

 photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

I’m really happy to be a part of the Lion Heart tour. I was a little late to the series but I fell in love with it and its characters. Author AC Gaughen took a familiar story and made into something that was real and honest and gave us an amazing heroine to boot. My review for the book will be posting at a later date (with Scarlet and Lady Thief), but for today we have the lovely Ms. Gaughen guest posting and she is casting her books and I’m really excited to share it with you!

 

Casting Couch – Cast Your Novel!

Ugh! Do you KNOW how hard this is? How completely impossible? But I’ll try, because it’s also fun!

 

annie1
Richard Madden—Rob

Come on. Hardened but hopeful, dark but noble, and obviously drop dead gorgeous. He’s like the absolutely perfect Robin Hood.

 

Tuppence Middleton (sort of)—Scarlet
Tuppence Middleton (sort of)—Scarlet

Okay—she’s actually a little too old at 28 to play Scarlet, but I think she’s dead on for the way I picture Scarlet, and there’s a slyness about her that could be AMAZING. But ultimately, if this ever were a movie, I’d want Scarlet to be a total unknown.

 

Bradley James as a PAINFULLY hot John Little
Bradley James as a PAINFULLY hot John Little

I mean…come on. Just look at him. And watch Merlin. And then LOOK AT HIM.

 

Freddie Highmore as Much
Freddie Highmore as Much

I haven’t seen this kid in a single thing, but he just LOOKS SO SWEET and Much-like. Much has got to be a sort of goofy kid who can really mature throughout the story—he starts in a very different place in SCARLET than where he ends in LION HEART. And he was born on Valentine’s Daaayyy!! <3

 

Diana Rigg as Eleanor of Aquitaine
Diana Rigg as Eleanor of Aquitaine

Every time I see her on Game of Thrones, I’m just like…how did Eleanor get onto this show?! She’s perfect.

 

annie6
That guy who isn’t John C Reilly in the Guardians of the Galaxy as David

My brother compared David to this guy above—noted only for his “What a bunch of A-Holes” line in the movie—and it just totally stuck. Can’t help it.

 

Michiel Huisman as Allan a Dale
Michiel Huisman as Allan a Dale

I loooved him as Liam McGinnis on Nashville, and then he popped up on Game of Thrones—still kind of acting like Liam McGinnis. Totally fine by me—he’d make an AWESOME Allan.

I’ll leave it there—any other roles you guys see clearly casted?

About A.C. Gaughen

I am shamelessly addicted to staying up far too late (it feels like stealing time), diet coke (it burns so good), Scotland (stupid country stole my heart and won't give it back. Interpol has been ineffective for prosecution) and thieves (so I guess I'm not that mad at Scotland).

giveaway

Prizes:
3 complete sets of the SCARLET series. US Only. Copies will be sent out from the publisher at the end of the tour.
annie

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading