Blog Tour: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand {Giveaway}

Blog Tour: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand {Giveaway}The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand
Published by HarperTeen
Published: November 5, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
five-stars

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Back in 2015, I picked up a book called The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand. She was a new to me author (although I had heard of her Unearthly series). It had been on my TBR for about 9 months and I decide to read it and fell completely in love with it. I was engrossed from the start and devoured it in 2 days. So to say I was excited for The How and the Why when I got my hands on it is an understatement. But just like she did with The Last Time We Say Goodbye, Hand once again blew me away with The How and the Why. Simply put, it was phenomenal.

The How and the Why is about Cassandra McMurtrey, a girl that was adopted and given an amazing life with two parents that love her and have given her almost everything she has wanted. No matter how much they want, they can’t give her answers about her birth parents. But there are letters out there written to Cassandra that may just hold the answers to what she is looking for. It is just a matter of deciding if it is worth the effort to find out or if it is better to stay in the unknown.

First and foremost, what I loved about this book was the way the story was told. Each chapter alternates between Cassandra’s search for answers and the letters written 18 years earlier. It was a genius way to have the story unfold. As a reader I was able to see what Cassandra was feeling and the feelings of her birth mother at the same time. I was able to notice similarities between the two stories and make connections while I read which I really enjoyed.

I don’t want to say too much more because I don’t want to give anything away about the story. And really all I wanted to do for this review was to yell to read the book, but I will tell you that it is powerful and emotional and you may need the tissues. This is a book you do not want to miss, especially if you like realistic contemporary YA. A must read!

About Cynthia Hand

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novels THE HOW AND THE WHY and MY CALAMITY JANE (also with Ashton and Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, two cats, one crazy dog, two kids, and mountain of books.

Prize: Win a copy of The How and the Why (US Only)

Stars: 30th October 2019
Ends: 13th November 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway

October 30th

October 31st

Lost in Storyland – Interview
Andi’s ABCs – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm  – Review + Favourite Quotes
Snark & Squee – Review

November 1st

Wishful Endings – Interview
Magical Reads – Review + Playlist
Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review + Favourite Quotes
Devourbookswithdana – Review + Favourite Quotes

November 2nd

Books of Amber – Review + Playlist
Kait Plus Books  – Review + Favourite Quotes
_bookishaestha_  – Review + Favourite Quotes

November 3rd

Here’s to Happy Endings  – Review + Favourite Quotes
The YA Obsessed – Review
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Life With No Plot – Review

November 4th

Moonligh Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Hauntedbybooks – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Story-eyed Reviews – Review

November 5th

BookCrushin – Guest Post
Emily The Book Nerd – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Maddie.TV – Review
Continue Reading

Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand

REVIEW

Review: The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia HandThe Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
Published: February 1st 2015
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
five-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.

Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away, and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family, and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn't told anyone—a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

In the tradition of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, Gayle Forman's If I Stay, and Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a thoughtful and deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

thoughts1

Have the tissues handy. Loads and loads of tissues because The Last Time We Say Goodbye is so emotional and heart aching and sad that you will need them. But trust me when I tell you, you will be a better person after reading this book and feeling Lex’s pain and guilt.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye is the emotional story of Lex, a girl that is consumed with guilt after her younger brother commits suicide. Seem before Tyler killed himself things were good for Lex. She was happy and had a family she loved, and boyfriend that was her perfect match. She was at the top of her class and had everything going for her. She had friends and a life. And just like that her brother was gone and so was everything in Lex’s life that was important. After Tyler she is nothing but the girl that could have saved her brother…if only she answered his text on the night he killed himself, the text no one knows about.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye ripped my heart out and tossed it into a blender. Click To Tweet

This book punched me in the gut. It ripped my heart out and tossed it into a blender and made me cry no less than 4 times. It destroyed me. And yet it was one of the best reading experiences that I have had in a long time because it was real. Lex KILLED me. She was so broken and wracked with guilt and no one was there for her. She was barely holding on and yet she was looking out for her mother, dealing with her father whom she had never forgiven from breaking up their family, hiding from her friends and being suffocated by guilt over the fact that she believed she could have saved Tyler. My heart was crushed for Lex and I felt like I was the only one. Yes, I felt like I was the only one that hurt for the main character because I felt like part of the book.

I guess when you get to the heart of the story it isn’t really about Tyler’s suicide or Lex’s parents or even the text message. The story is about Lex figuring out that her brother was depressed and she couldn’t have saved him if he didn’t want to be saved. It was about her seeing that it was okay for her to be in love and be happy. That it was okay to be mad at her father and to tell him she was mad. That it was okay for her to dream and live out those dreams even though Tyler didn’t get to live out his. That it was okay for her to be mad at him but to also forgive him That was what really killed my soul because Lex didn’t know all of this things and she was just flat out scared of living her life. GUTTED. ME.

I can’t tell you enough to read The Last Time We Say Goodbye. Even though I was demolished by feelings I wanted to read it again after finishing it (I actually got the audio the next day) and I still want to read it again. It is a book about real life and dealing with death and how it is okay when you are the one left behind. It’s a book you must pick up and read. You won’t be sorry even through your tears.

otherbooks
unearthlyhallowedboundless

reread5

Continue Reading