On My Radar – June Releases (11)

Summer weather is slowly starting to show up all over the country. In Boston is has been 90+ the past couple of days (it will be back to normal this weekend). With summer around the corner it means summer months are going to be starting which means new releases.

Currently there are 15 books I am excited for in June. Some I have already read and others I’m excited to check out. With June a week and a half away I thought I would highlight a few of the books I’m really excited to either read or see out in the wild

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Here Lies Daniel Tate by Cristin Terrill
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A young, street-savvy runaway looking for a place to call home realized he might have conned his way into the wrong family in this fast-paced and thrilling novel from award-winning author Cristin Terrill.

When ten-year-old Daniel Tate went missing from one of California's most elite communities, he left no trace. He simply vanished.

Six years later, when he resurfaces on a snowy street in Vancouver, he's no longer the same boy. His sandy hair is darker, the freckles are gone, and he's initially too traumatized to speak, but he's alive. His overjoyed family brings him home to a world of luxury and comfort he can barely remember. In time, they assure him, he'll recover his memories; all that matters now is they're together again.

It's perfect. A miracle. Except for one thing.

He isn't Daniel Tate.

He's a petty con artist who accidentally stumbled into the scam of a lifetime, and he soon learns he's not the only one in the Tate household with something to hide. The family has as many secrets as they have millions in the bank, and one of them might be ready to kill to keep the worst one buried.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Once and for All by Sarah Dessen
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber
Published by Thomas Nelson
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel--Earth's charming young playboy--the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
on June 13th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.
Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Salvaged by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver #3
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
on June 20th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And I just realized most of these come out on June 6th. OOPS. Hope you are ready to get your read on.

If you are looking for other books on my radar you can check out my June shelf on Goodreads HERE.

What’s on your radar in June?

Continue Reading

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)

There are a lot of really fantastic books coming out in 2017 that I am so excited to read. Some of my favorite authors have new books that I just need to gets my hands on desperately. With that said there are some I just really want more than others, so much in fact I stalk Netgalley and Edelweiss for them and I’m not ashamed of this at all. What are those books? Funny you should ask. I have a handy list right here:

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)Corruption by Jessica Shirvington
Published by HarperCollins
on March 7th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

The thrilling finale to bestselling author Jessica Shirvington's Disruption series.

How do you live with yourself when you've deceived the one you love?
How do you move on when the person you've been fighting to save betrays you?

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens began the hunt. Four weeks ago, Maggie's world fell apart, when she finally found what she'd been looking for. And when Quentin, who had blindly trusted her, unraveled her web of lies.
Now, Maggie lives in the dark. But she's not about to stay there. Not when she still has to bring M-Corp down. Not when there is still a chance she could win him back.

In the exhilarating conclusion to Disruption, Maggie must do whatever it takes to show the world the truth. And the price for her quest? Everything.
But for who?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)The Adjustment by Suzanne Young
Series: The Program #3
Published by Simon Pulse
Amazon, Goodreads

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this follow up to the New York Times bestselling The Program and The Treatment.

Tatum Masterson never went through The Program. She never had her memory stripped, never had to fight to remain herself. But when Weston, her longtime boyfriend and love of her life, was taken by handlers, she hoped he’d remember her somehow—that their love would be strong enough.

It wasn’t.

Like all returners, Weston came back a blank canvas. The years he and Tatum spent together were forgotten, as well as the week when he mysteriously disappeared before The Program came for him.
Regardless of his memory loss, Tatum fights to get Weston to remember her. And just as they start to build a new love, they hear about the Adjustment—a new therapy that implants memories from a donor. Despite the risks, Tatum and Weston agree to go through the process. Tatum donates her memories from their time together.

But the problem with memories is that they are all a matter of perspective. So although Weston can now remember dating Tatum, his emotions don’t match the experiences. And this discrepancy is slowly starting to unravel him, worse than anything The Program could have done.

And as the truth of their life together becomes clear, Tatum will have to decide if she loves Weston enough to let him go, or to continue to live the lie they’d build together.

Prepare for your Adjustment.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Amazon, Goodreads

From acclaimed author Emery Lord comes a vibrant, compelling story of love, loss, faith, and friendship.

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord’s storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life’s biggest challenges.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)In a Perfect World by Trish Doller
Published by Simon Pulse
Amazon, Goodreads

From critically acclaimed author Trish Doller comes a gorgeous, hopeful, and heartbreaking novel, set in Cairo, Egypt, about the barriers we tear down for the people and places we love most.

Caroline Kelly is excited to be spending her summer vacation working at the local amusement park with her best friend, exploring weird Ohio with her boyfriend, and attending soccer camp with the hope she’ll be her team’s captain in the fall.

But when Caroline’s mother is hired to open an eye clinic in Cairo, Egypt, Caroline’s plans are upended. Caroline is now expected to spend her summer and her senior year in a foreign country, away from her friends, her home, and everything she’s ever known.

With this move, Caroline predicts she’ll spend her time navigating crowded streets, eating unfamiliar food, and having terrible bouts of homesickness. But when she finds instead is a culture that surprises her, a city that astounds her, and a charming, unpredictable boy who challenges everything she thought she knew about life, love, and privilege.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Amazon, Goodreads

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.

Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: 2017 Wish List (4)Untitled by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Amazon, Goodreads

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are the 2017 books on your radar?

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: I’ll Meet You There Q and A with Heather Demetrios and a Giveaway

illmeet

Blog Tour: I’ll Meet You There Q and A with Heather Demetrios and a GiveawayI'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Published by Macmillan
on February 3rd 2015
Amazon, Goodreads

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom—that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she’s ever worked for is on the line.Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

1. I was lucky enough to win a copy of I’ll Meet You There and read it back in the summer. It is one of those books that just stays with you (4 months later it still kills me in the best of ways!). You can 100% tell that you put your heart in soul into this book. The emotions just leap of the page. What was that like for you? How was the experience of writing it?

In some ways I feel like IMYT kind of ruined me—it’s raised the bar so high in terms of what the journey of writing a book can be. I literally started sobbing when I finished the last line of the first full draft, in part because it had been so hard to write the book and there were so many points when I thought I couldn’t do it, and also because I loved my characters so much and was able to guide them to where they needed to be. I’m really freaking proud of this book. There were so many highs and lows throughout the process, what with the research and interviews and stories I was being told. Mostly, I just wanted to write something worthy of the subject matter. I’ve talked before about how incredibly difficult it was to deal with such heavy topics as PTSD, death, the war in Afghanistan, poverty and how working on this book forced me to come to terms with my dad’s PTSD. I also wrote the bulk of this book in the months after my grandfather died. He was my main father figure all of my life, so it was hard. That was how I was able to enter into some of Sky’s feelings about losing her dad. I think the coolest thing about the book was how my writer’s group realized that Josh was such a huge character before I did. He was kind of buried in my subconscious and they held him up to the light. I’ll love them forever for that. Writing IMYT opened my mind and my heart and there are so many pieces of me in there that I honestly am not sure where reality stops and fiction begins.

 

2. Personally I fell in love with your writing when I read Something Real earlier this year. It was such a great story really relevant to everything in pop culture with great characters. I’ll Meet You There is definitely a different book but that is still very relevant to now. What was it like to explore too different parts relevant to today’s world?

I want to write books for my time and, hopefully, they will also stand the test of time. It’s so exciting to deal with relevant subject matter because it allows me to enter into the conversation about issues I care about. Knowing that I can shed light on things like trafficking or veterans issues or children’s rights through my work keeps me focused on what matters and gives me perspective. I believe we all have a responsibility to serve society in some way. As a writer, my goal is to give people hope, to let them know they’re not alone, and to open their eyes to groups of people or things in our world they weren’t aware of. I also, of course, want to entertain and give people a chance to escape, to be voyeurs. Because my books are also marketed to teens, I’m very aware of the opportunity I have to inspire them and get them thinking—but, of course, I want to do that for all my readers, regardless of their age! One of the best things about dealing with relevant topics is that I get to learn about those things in depth. I’m a better person because of the research I had to do for I’ll Meet You There and Something Real. Sadder, in some ways, but better for it.

 

3. There is no denying that Sky and Josh are very flawed characters. The two of them have been through a lot in their young lives. Even with their flaws they were relatable and likable. How was it getting into the head of these two amazing characters?

Everyone has flaws, Sky and Josh no more than anyone else. You know, my characters are complicated people who screw up and hurt others and themselves—just like we all do. I think readers will connect to Josh and Sky because they put it all out there—all the messy, ugly things we don’t want other people to see. If I had met Josh Mitchell on the street before writing this book, I would have had this whole preconceived notion of this jarhead guy, right? But because I had to get in his skin, it helped me to see how profoundly fascinating Marines and Soldiers are. There are lots of poets in those ranks, and people who are hurting and fighting wars on the inside just as much as on the outside.

To me, Sky and Josh are real. The level of intimacy I had to have with them in order to understand who they were—and particularly to understand Josh—required me to get in the trenches with them. Sky and I have several parallels, so I had to take a look at some things in my own life and find those places where I completely got her. But she’s very much her own person—she’s much tougher than I am. I wonder if I’ll ever, ever again have such a satisfying experience as I’ve had working on Josh. He taught me so much about what it means to have courage and loyalty and selflessness. It was really hard being in his head because it’s a scary place to be. And he’s such a guy’s guy—I had to rely on my research and my guts when it came to him.   

 

4. Tell me about the setting! The hotel that a lot of the book takes place in is pretty awesome. How did you come up with the idea? Is it a kind of setting you have wanted to use for a while or something that just came to you?

The motel was the genesis of the story. I don’t remember exactly when it popped into my head, but as soon as I thought of it, I knew it would be such an intriguing setting for a book. Once I started creating Creek View, it took on a life of its own. Ray’s, the trailer park, the abandoned gas station…they really just appeared out of nowhere, like they were hiding in my bones. I also relied on memories of my many trips up and down the 99 and being a native Californian who went to high school in Central California. Then the town sort of ran with it. Originally, the motel was a really negative, crappy place, but I think my writer’s group pointed out that Marge, instead of being a terrible boss, could be a more positive person. And once I realized that I could go there, the Paradise became this really special haven for Sky and Josh. It was one of my writer friends’ ideas to have themed rooms. Then I just went to town! (The Tom Cruise room is my favorite, no contest. But the Viva Mexico room is a close second). As cliché as this sounds, it really did take a village to write this book. So many people supported me along the way.

 

5. Since I read I’ll Meet You There pretty early, okay, August of 2014 early, I’m kind of dying for your next contemporary. Anything kind of hint you can give us on that? Or even what you are currently working on?

I had one idea that I played with for most of last year that crashed and burned spectacularly and that left me feeling a little freaked out, to be honest. The whole time I was working on it, I had this niggling feeling that I didn’t love it. Right now, I’m working on my next fantasy series, which I’m keeping under wraps but will hopefully be able to shout from the rooftops about by summer. In terms of contemporary, I do have this one idea I’m really intrigued by, but it’s hard because it feels like nothing can compare to this experience of I’ll Meet You There. I know, I need to get back on the horse. Part of it, too, is that I just finished getting my MFA and I’ve got all these ideas swirling around in my head about being experimental and such. I don’t know. I have to say that whatever I write next must have a voice that grabs me, like Josh did, and won’t let me go. I’m kind of interested in some Jandy Nelson type magical realism, too. And love, of course. Whatever I write will have lots of that because, to me, that’s what this whole living thing is all about.

 

6. And I ask all interviews this question since my blog deals with clothes and accessories too. What is the one accessory or clothing item you personally could not live without?

Socks! I know that’s so boring, but being a native Californian who now lives in freezing cold Brooklyn, my feet are blocks of ice and when I’m cold I can’t write. I also have this gorgeous infinity scarf that my husband bought me at Anthropologie and it’s my favorite thing in the world to wear. I always feel like a jetsetter fashionista when I wear it.

A HUGE thank you to Heather and Macmillan for this amazing blog tour experience. You can read my review of I’ll Meet You There HERE.

If you would like to win a cop of I’ll Meet You There, please enter below. The giveaway is US/Canada ONLY and provided by the publisher. Winner will receive a hardcover copy of I’ll Meet You There.  Runs February 3rd at 12am to February 8th at 11:59pm EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Heather Demetrios

When she's not traipsing around the world or spending time in imaginary places, Heather Demetrios lives with her husband in New York City. Originally from Los Angeles, she now calls the East Coast home. Heather is a recipient of the PEN New England Susan P. Bloom Discovery Award for her debut novel, Something Real, which Publisher's Weekly calls “[An] addictive yet thoughtful debut” about reality TV stardom. She is the author of EXQUISITE CAPTIVE, a smoldering fantasy about jinn in Los Angeles and what Kirkus called in its starred review "an intoxicating, richly realized realm of magic, politics, spirituality and history" (#1 in the DARK CARAVAN CYCLE). She is also the author of the upcoming I’ll Meet You There (Winter 2015). I’ll Meet You There is a love story about a young combat veteran and a girl trapped in their small town, both struggling to escape the war at home. Heather is the founder of Live Your What, an organization dedicated to fostering passion in people of all ages and creating writing opportunities for underserved youth. She is proud to have an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. You can always find her on Twitter (@HDemetrios), ogling the military dogs she wants to adopt (but can’t because her NYC apartment is way too small). Find out more about Heather and her other books at wwww.heatherdemetrios.com and www.darkcaravancycle.com.

Blog tour stops can be found HERE.

illmeet1
-Follow Heather on Twitter!
-Check out Heather’s Pinterest boards!
-Become a fan on Facebook!

Continue Reading

Review: I’ll Meet You There – Heather Demetrios

Review: I’ll Meet You There – Heather DemetriosI'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Published by Macmillan
on February 3rd 2015
Format: ARC
Amazon, Goodreads

If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom―that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she's ever worked for is on the line.

Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be.

What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise―a quirky motel off California's dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

As I sit down to write this review words seem to be lacking to explain how I feel about I’ll Meet You There. You see, I loved Demetrios’ first book Something Real like hardcore. I loved the concept and the characters and the writing. It was a pretty fantastic book. So going into I’ll Meet You There I was nervous. Excited, but nervous. I didn’t want to compare the two books as I knew they were completely different, but sometimes you can’t help worrying in your head that you will. Well rest well my reading friends, not once did I compare the two because I’ll Meet You There was amazing all on its own. Whether this was Demetrios’ first book, second or 390th, it was so beautifully good and poignant and emotional. It hit me deep and hard and I loved it.

I’ll Meet You There is about Josh and Skylar, two broken kids from small town USA. They both had dreams of leaving their Podunk town Creek View, Josh by the way of the Marines and Skylar by a college scholarship. Josh originally made it out and fought in Afghanistan only to end up right back in Creek View with one less leg. Skylar on the other hand was on her way out, she had a college scholarship and was headed to a city in CA. But when Sky’s mom loses her job she is faced with the possibility of not going anywhere. Both working at a funky motel called The Paradise, Josh and Skylar are about to have a summer they never planned on that not only can change their futures, but maybe even who they are inside.

Demetrios really hit me with this book on a level I wasn’t expecting. Sure I was nervous about it, but I knew it would be good. I just didn’t think I would feel like I did. I didn’t think I would cry like I did. Josh and Skylar were so perfectly flawed and heartbreaking. I just ached for them for different reasons. I wanted to hug them both and tell them it would be okay, that life wouldn’t always be so hard. I was 100% invested in their stories and I did want everything to be okay.

First you have Skylar, this girl that grew up way too fast. She was only a high school graduate but seemed older than me at times. She had a lot on her shoulders and was afraid to let any of it go. Her mother was not a support, her best fiends had their own problems and all Sky wanted was out. She was willing to give up her dreams for others and that just killed me. Then you have Josh. Marine through and through. He lived for fighting for his country. And in a blink of an eye it was taken from him. Now he was back in a place he left behind with more demons than anyone could guess. He was so broken and yet he fought and tried. He screwed up and got scared and pushed people away, but he stayed.

This book killed me with feels. Between Josh and Skylar, the hardships the side characters faced or the awesome owner of The Paradise, and The Paradise itself(read this book for no other reason than the motel!) I was a mess of emotion. And yet I walked away loving every single thing I felt and read. It was like Something Like Normal meets The Sea of Tranquility in a way I could never explain. All that I can really say is thank you Heather Demetrios for giving me something that I can feel your heart and soul in and for touching my heart and soul with your words. I have ordered this book for no less than 4 people and I implore you to do the same. It is worth the cost of admission and more!

 

Continue Reading