Review: Shuffle, Repeat – Jen Klein

Review: Shuffle, Repeat – Jen KleinShuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein
Published by Random House Books for Young Readers
Published: May 3rd 2016
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-half-stars

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.

June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

I picked Shuffle, Repeat on a total whim. I was trying to decide what I wanted to read next and it was quite literally next to me on my bed. Remembering what it was about I picked it up. I can honestly say I loved it from page one.  It pulled me in immediately and never looked back. It was funny and charming and sweet and felt like the truth. Basically I loved it.

The premise of Shuffle, Repeat is one of my favorites. It’s about June and Oliver, two totally different people that have known each other since birth (their moms have been best friends for years). After June and her mom move, Oliver is enlisted to drive June to school everyday. Everyday the two of them argue and debate everything from music to graduation to the school prank. But as the time passes they seem to find more and more common ground and June starts to see that maybe Oliver isn’t really who she thought he was. When feelings change and become something unexpected June struggles with letting go of what she made herself think high school was all about.

The book really had minimal chance to fail with me. I must admit that one of my favorite type of books is the hate to love kind of story and this fit that mold perfectly. But this book also could have easily been a great 3 star read. What made it better? June and Oliver. The two of the, together were everything. I laughed and giggled. I cringed and groaned. I swooned and melted with feels. There was just something so genuine and endearing about them. They are what made Shuffle, Repeat what it was. They were the shinning stars and I still smile thinking about them.

I truly can’t say anything about Shuffle, Repeat that isn’t anything but glowing. It was one of those books you never wanted to finish but you couldn’t stop reading. It was exactly what I wanted/needed in a book and I highly recommend you read it.

 

Save

Save

Continue Reading