Blog Tour Guest Post: When Summer Ends by Jessica Pennington{GIVEAWAY}

Today is my stop of the blog tour for Jessica Pennington’s sophomore novel, When Summer Ends (out in stores now!). For my stop on the tour, Jessica is posting the ABCs for her two main characters, Aiden and Olivia. Having already read the book (you can find my review HERE), I love what she picked for both of them. It is so spot on!

Without further ado, here are the ABCs:

Accessory: Doesn’t everyone load up their canoe with art supplies?? This summer, Aiden’s taking his art into the great outdoors, to be inspired by the beautiful landscapes and hidden spots of the Michigan beach town he calls home.

Book: Art has always been something Aiden loves, but this summer he needs it to help him in so many ways. And as he adjusts to his new reality, he’ll start looking at art like he never has before.

Clothes: Aiden has had to put away his glove since unexpectedly quitting the team on the last day of school, but he’s still rocking a baseball hat. Except this one’s for River Depot, the tourist trap his family owns along the river, where he’ll be spending his summer along with his cousin Ellis (and maybe a few new friends).

 

Accessory:  Who doesn’t love super cute journals from Rifle Paper Company? Olivia loves to tuck these in her bag so that she’s always ready to jot something down–whether it’s an idea for the essay contest that will snag her a dream internship, or a few lines about the cute new boy she’s sitting on the beach with.

Book: Olivia spent all of her time with her ex sitting on couches and in movie theaters, but this summer, she’s finding herself immersed in the great outdoors for the first time. And a surprising amount of her time is being spent in a canoe. Her first few trips weren’t so graceful–she needs to figure out how not to look like a total klutz with Aiden Emerson sitting right behind her.

Clothes: With a new job at River Depot, renting out canoes to tourists, indoors-inclined Olivia is feeling more than a little out of her element. All she wants is a pair of cute khaki shorts for her required uniform. Unfortunately, that’s not even close to what she gets.

Blog Tour Guest Post: When Summer Ends by Jessica Pennington{GIVEAWAY}When Summer Ends: A Novel by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
Published: April 9, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Aiden Emerson is an all-star pitcher and the all-around golden boy of Riverton. Or at least he was, before he quit the team the last day of junior year without any explanation. How could he tell people he's losing his vision at seventeen?

Straight-laced Olivia thought she had life all figured out. But when her dream internship falls apart, her estranged mother comes back into her life, and her long-time boyfriend ghosts her right before summer break, she's starting to think fate has a weird sense of humor.

Each struggling to find a new direction, Aiden and Olivia decide to live summer by chance. Every fleeting adventure and stolen kiss is as fragile as a coin flip in this heartfelt journey to love and self-discovery from the author of Love Songs & Other Lies.

About Jessica Pennington

Jessica Pennington is no stranger to the combination of love and drama. She’s a wedding planner, after all. A writer since the age of ten—when she sought publication for her poem about a tree—Jessica likes the challenge of finding the humor in a sad situation or highlighting the awkwardness in a romantic one. A serial entrepreneur with a B.A. in public relations, Jessica has a passion for grassroots marketing. She lives in a Michigan beach town, where she owns more YA novels than many teens and spends most of her time on a laptop, rather than on a beach.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Link: http://theheartofabookblogger.com/announcing-the-when-summer-ends-blog-tour

April 1st
The Heart of a Book Blogger — Interview
Mel and Her Books — Review

April 2nd
The Candid Cover — Review
Mahkjchi’s Not So Secret Books — Aesthetic

April 3rd
Book Crushin’ — Creative Post
Buried in a Bookshelf — Video Interview

April 4th
Laura’s Bookish Corner — Dream Cast
Blunt Book Blog — Review

April 5th
Confessions of a YA Reader — Interview
Lala’s Book Reviews — Excerpt

April 6th
Ashleigh’s Bookshelf — Review

April 7th
The YA Book Traveler — Aesthetic

April 8th
The Clever Reader — Favorite Quotes
TBR and Beyond — Interview

April 9th
Smada’s Book Smack — Playlist
Belle’s Archive — Review

April 10th
Andi’s ABCs — Guest Post
Travel, Books, and More…Oh My! — Dream Cast

April 11th
Book Loaner — Review

April 12th
The Mind of a Book Dragon — Interview
Bookishly Slytherclaw — Review

Thanks so much, Jessica for stopping by and guest posting! And thanks to Jordan at The Heart of a Book Blogger for hosting the tour!

Go out and buy When Summer Ends today!

 

 

Continue Reading

Review: When Summer Ends – Jessica Pennington

Review: When Summer Ends – Jessica PenningtonWhen Summer Ends: A Novel by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
Published: April 9, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

Aiden Emerson is an all-star pitcher and the all-around golden boy of Riverton. Or at least he was, before he quit the team the last day of junior year without any explanation. How could he tell people he's losing his vision at seventeen?

Straight-laced Olivia thought she had life all figured out. But when her dream internship falls apart, her estranged mother comes back into her life, and her long-time boyfriend ghosts her right before summer break, she's starting to think fate has a weird sense of humor.

Each struggling to find a new direction, Aiden and Olivia decide to live summer by chance. Every fleeting adventure and stolen kiss is as fragile as a coin flip in this heartfelt journey to love and self-discovery from the author of Love Songs & Other Lies.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

After having read Jessica Pennington’s debut, Love Songs and Other Lies I was pretty anxious for her sophomore novel to come out. As soon as I read the description I knew it was a book for me. It had summer and romance and baseball and taking chances. It seemed like something I would pick up even if I wasn’t familiar with the author. Let me tell you, Jessica didn’t disappoint! When Summer Ends was the perfect sophomore novel and I had such a great experience reading it.

When Summer Ends is about Olivia and Aiden, two high-school students in the summer before their senior year. Olivia has always played everything safe. She wants to go to the safe college and she had a safe boyfriend (well now ex-boyfriend) and made the safe/easy decisions. Enter Aiden, the star baseball player that has quit the team because of vision problems. When these two spend an unlikely summer together it becomes nothing they expected. Both on new paths they decide to live summer by chance which could lead them to something else unexpected…each other.

What I loved the most about this book was the chemistry between Olivia and Aiden. They were so cute together right from the start when they really didn’t know each other and were so skeptical. I loved how they got to know each other and started to form their own opinions on one another away from Olivia’s ex-boyfriend and Aiden’s ex-teammate. These two took fate and chance and made a summer out of it and it was so fun to watch. They were both going through so much yet they managed to enjoy each other and learn from one another.

I really enjoyed reading Jessica Pennington’s sophomore book. It was a really cute story with a lot of heart and a lot of fate. I recommend you pick this one up this summer and enjoy Olivia and Aiden like I did!

Continue Reading

Cover Reveal: When Summer Ends by Jessica Pennington {giveaway}

Jessica Pennington, author of Love Songs and Other Lies, has a new book coming out in April of 2019 and I get to be on of the lovely people that are sharing the cover.

Here is the official book summary for When Summer Ends:

Aiden Emerson is an all-star pitcher and the all-around golden boy of Riverton. Or at least he was, before he quit the team the last day of junior year without any explanation. How could he tell people he’s losing his vision at seventeen?

Straight-laced Olivia thought she had life all figured out. But when her dream internship falls apart, her estranged mother comes back into her life, and her long-time boyfriend dumps her right before summer break, she starts to think fate has a weird sense of humor.

Each struggling to find a new direction, Aiden and Olivia decide to live summer by chance. Every fleeting adventure and stolen kiss is as fragile as a coin flip in this heartfelt journey to love and self-discovery from the author of Love Songs & Other Lies.

Add WHEN SUMMER ENDS on Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/y856dw9a

Pre-Order WHEN SUMMER ENDS

Amazon: https://tinyurl.com/ycocerxq

BAM: http://www.booksamillion.com/product/9781250187338

 

********************

Are you ready for the cover? Well here it is:

I am so super crazy about it! As soon as Jessica showed it to me and told me what it was about I knew I needed it on my shelf! And now you have the chance to get it early on yours!

********************

Win the 1st ARC of WHEN SUMMER ENDS!

Add When Summer Ends to your Goodreads shelf for a chance to win one of the very first ARCs of When Summer Ends, plus a Love Songs & Other Lies swag bag. Open international, ends 8/22.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

TBR – Upcoming Reads

I sometimes, all the time, get stressed out by the shear amount of books I own or want to read. It can be very overwhelming to look at all the options available to me. Because of this I often forget that I want to read something and then start something else. It is a vicious cycle and I try desperately to break it. I have yet to be successful but I still try. Will that being said there are 6 books that are high on my TBR priority list. Wonder how this will go.

 

TBR – Upcoming ReadsJane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
Published: September 19th 2017
Add to Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLittle & Lion by Brandy Colbert
Published: August 8th 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself--or worse.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsWicked Sexy Liar (Wild Seasons, #4) by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books
Published: February 2nd 2016
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

When three college besties meet three hot guys in Vegas, anything can—and does—happen. Book Four in the New York Times Wild Seasons series that began with Sweet Filthy Boy (the Romantic Times book of the year that Sylvia Day called “a sexy, sweet treasure of a story”), Dirty Rowdy Thing, and Dark Wild Night.

For two people ambivalent about dating and love, they sure get naked around each other an awful lot . . .

London Hughes is very content to surf daily, tend bar, hang out with her group of friends, and slowly orient herself in the years after college. Everything’s going great and according to the non-plan.

But when a wave knocks her for a loop one morning, then Luke Sutter’s flirtatious smile knocks her for another that evening, she veers slightly off course…and into his path. Sure, he’s a total player, but the Why not—it’s only one night is a persistent voice in her ear.

For his part, Luke’s been on hookup autopilot for so long that he rarely ever pauses to consider what he’s doing. But after an amazing time with London, he realizes that he hasn’t been moving on from a devastating heartbreak so much as he’s been drifting to wherever—and whomever—the current takes him. With London he wants more.

Every relationship involves two people…plus their pasts. And as much as she enjoys her fling with Luke, when London learns about his past—more specifically, who’s in it—everything becomes the brand of complicated she strives to avoid. It’s up to Luke then to change some things in order to try and ensure he’s not something she’ll outright avoid as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLove Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
Published: April 24th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsThe Knowing (The Forgetting, #2) by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
Published: October 10th 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Samara doesn't forget. And she isn't the only one. Safe underground in the city of New Canaan, she lives in a privileged world free from the Forgetting. Yet she wonders if she really is free, with the memories that plague her and secrets that surround her. Samara is determined to unearth the answers, even if she must escape to the old, cursed city of Canaan to find them.

Someone else is on their way to Canaan too . . . a spaceship from Earth is heading toward the planet, like a figment of the city's forgotten past. Beck is traveling with his parents, researchers tasked with finding the abandoned settlement effort. When Beck is stranded without communication, he will find more in Canaan than he was ever trained for. What will happen when worlds and memories, beliefs -- and truths -- collide?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsReign the Earth (The Elementae, #1) by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
Published: January 30th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s coming up on you TBR? Have you read any of these?

Continue Reading

Waiting For…

I’m aware it is only July of 2017. In my mind I know there are plenty of books coming out in the next months that I am desperate to read. But if I’m honest I keep looking at my 2018 book list on Goodreads and getting all the book envy. There are so many books coming out in 2018 and I’m dying for them all. I mean there is the given, the 7th book in the Throne of Glass series and the announce 4th book in the ACOTAR series, plus the Meet Cute compilation, but there are some series that are starting and ending and plain old books by authors I love. Really, is there anything wrong with being excited for 2018 and all the amazing books that will be released? I think not.

Currently I have 28 books on my 2018 TBR, but I thought I would showcase the 6 I’m super excited for:

 

Waiting For…Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
Published: April 24th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
Published: January 30th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…The Complication by Suzanne Young
Published by Simon Pulse
Published: April 24th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this sixth novel in the New York Times bestselling Program series from Suzanne Young.

Every cure has a cost.

Tatum Masterson learned this after years of being monitored by The Program. She witnessed it when her boyfriend, Wes, came back changed, erased. And now, even the newest “cure” has a heavy cost—one she and Wes paid.

The Adjustment came into Tatum’s life just when she thought she needed it most, a promise for Wes to get back his forgotten memories. But when the procedure went wrong, a revelation shattered everything Tatum thought she knew.

Now, with no one left to trust, Tatum must find out what really happened last summer. And with the help of the boyfriend she lost, Tatum will have to dig into the past and future of The Program and its handlers.

And discover the true cost of a cure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Heart on Fire by Amanda Bouchet
Published: January 2nd 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

The riveting conclusion to the Kingmaker Chronicles, available January 2018!

Who is Catalia Fisa?With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.

Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step--reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.

What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger...we hope.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury Children's
Published: March 6th 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

From the author of Letters to the Lost comes a heart-wrenching story of two teens with big secrets and a love that could set them free.

Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett
Published by Simon Pulse
Published: April 3rd 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

In this romantic dramedy from the author of Alex, Approximately, a teen girl’s way-too-ordinary life is driven off the beaten path when she’s abandoned in the wilderness with her worst adversary—the boy who broke her heart.

Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best friends-turned-best enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern day, Californian version of the Montagues and Capulets.

But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.

What could go wrong?

With no one but each other for company, Zorie and Lennon have no choice but to hash out their issues via witty jabs and insults as they try to make their way to safety. But fighting each other while also fighting off the forces of nature makes getting out of the woods in one piece less and less likely.

And as the two travel deeper into Northern California’s rugged backcountry, secrets and hidden feelings surface. But can Zorie and Lennon’s rekindled connection survive out in the real world? Or was it just a result of the fresh forest air and the magic of the twinkling stars?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are you excited for any of these in 2018? What books do I need to have on my TBR that may be an Andi book?

Continue Reading