To Be Reviewed (1)

Like any blogger I have a mountain long list of books that I have loved and have yet to review. Some of these books I read last year which means I need a reread before I write my review because we all know there is no way I remember the things I need to remember. Everyday I look at this list and think I should just write some of them and then I get overwhelmed by the number and decide to read a new book. Currently my list has about 15-17 books on it which in hindsight isn’t that bad considering, but it still stresses me out.

Honestly it is the series and the 5 star reads that give me the most trouble. I just never know what to say about a series that won’t spoil the other books and for the 5 star standalones I just have no words to describe perfect a lot of the time.

Anyway, here are 6 of my top books I have yet to reviewed that were some of my favorites:

To Be Reviewed (1)A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on May 2nd 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on April 4th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he's trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can't resist writing back. Soon, he's opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they're not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)When We Collided by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on May 16th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.

Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she's told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels' household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it's not long before Vivi's zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking.

Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah's love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn't enough?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens
Published by HarperTeen
on November 3rd 2015
Amazon, Goodreads

Sadie Kingston, is a girl living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can’t move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent’s brother, Max.

As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she's unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him — even if Max is able to look at her scars and not shy away. But when the truth about the accident and subsequent events comes to light, Sadie has to decide if she can embrace the future or if she'll always be trapped in the past.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Published by Bloomsbury Children's Books
on September 6th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

KINGDOMS WILL COLLIDE.

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius as war looms on the horizon. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don't.

With her heart sworn to the warrior-prince by her side, and her fealty pledged to the people she is determined to save, Aelin will delve into the depths of her power to protect those she loves. But as monsters emerge from the horrors of the past, and dark forces become poised to claim her world, the only chance for salvation will lie in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

In this breathtaking fifth installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, Aelin will have to choose what—and who—to sacrifice if she's to keep the world of Erilea from breaking apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on April 5th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How do you manage to keep you book review numbers down? How long is your To Be Reviewed list? Talk to me!

Continue Reading

Blog Tour – The Mirror King by Jodi Meadow: The ABCs (+ a Giveaway)

 

Today on the blog tour for The Mirror King I have Jodi Meadows guest posting The ABCs for Wilhelmina.  Wil is a pretty straightforward girl that has some items that you know are her as soon as you see them. Welcome Jodi (and by extension, Wil) to the blog.

wil

Accessory: Daggers.
I mean, Wilhelmina already has daggers, but what girl doesn’t need more weapons? Wil’s current daggers are perfectly serviceable, and she’s pretty attached to them, given all they’ve been through together, but if she were to have new daggers, perhaps they’d have fine ebony hilts, some sort of design etched into the tang and up into the blade. It would, perhaps, be ospreys in flight. Oh, and they’d be sharp.

Book: A new blank notebook.
Wil likes to read, sure, but she also likes to write. And by write, I mean she likes to steal handwriting and practice using it. Why not in a nice notebook? But Wil also keeps a diary, and the one she’s been using since she was young is getting pretty full. She deserves a new one after all this time. The main requirement for this is that the notebook have really nice paper. Wilhelmina is definitely a paper snob.

Clothes: A cloak.
So, the cloak on the cover of THE ORPHAN QUEEN was never actually in the book. And on THE MIRROR KING cover there are two cloaks, so in THE MIRROR KING I actually do give Wil a cloak. Clearly she wanted one. But for sneaking purposes, rather than cover purposes, Wil would probably like a black or dark gray cloak. Something to help her blend into the night.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog Tour – The Mirror King by Jodi Meadow: The ABCs (+ a Giveaway)The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on April 5th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

FIND IT: GOODREADS || AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || INDIEBOUND || BOOK DEPOSITORY

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen).

*A Kippy is a cat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be a tour-wide giveaway for one (1) copy of The Orphan Queen + one (1) copy of The Mirror King for one lucky winner! The giveaway will be open internationally, as long as Book Depository ships to them.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: The Orphan Queen – Jodi Meadows (GIVEAWAY)

orphan

Blog Tour: The Orphan Queen – Jodi Meadows (GIVEAWAY)The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
Published by HarperCollins
on March 10th 2015
Format: ARC
Source: Gifted
Amazon, Goodreads

Wilhelmina has a hundred identities.

She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina and other orphaned children of nobility were taken to Skyvale, the Indigo Kingdom’s capital. Ten years later, they are the Ospreys, experts at stealth and theft. With them, Wilhelmina means to take back her throne.

She is a spy. Wil and her best friend, Melanie, infiltrate Skyvale Palace to study their foes. They assume the identities of nobles from a wraith-fallen kingdom, but enemies fill the palace, and Melanie’s behavior grows suspicious. With Osprey missions becoming increasingly dangerous and their leader more unstable, Wil can’t trust anyone.

She is a threat. Wraith is the toxic by-product of magic, and for a century using magic has been forbidden. Still the wraith pours across the continent, reshaping the land and animals into fresh horrors. Soon it will reach the Indigo Kingdom. Wilhelmina’s magic might be the key to stopping the wraith, but if the vigilante Black Knife discovers Wil’s magic, she will vanish like all the others.

Jodi Meadows introduces a vivid new fantasy full of intrigue, romance, dangerous magic, and one girl’s battle to reclaim her place in the world.

thoughts1Fantasy books are a new addition to my reading repertoire. It was never something I thought I would be interested in. I mean I dabbled and enjoyed some and hated others, but the fantasy book reading never clicked. That is until I read the right book and then the next right book and then the next right book. Basically I became a fantasy reading fangirl looking for the next perfect book. The Orphan Queen, fit right in. So freaking good guys!

The Orphan Queen is about Wilhelmina, a once princess that is now an orphan fighting for her kingdom which was taken from her by a king that is now her enemy. Devising a plan with the Ospreys, the group of people she has been with since the ‘One Night War’, Wil and her best friend, Melanie, go undercover as spies in the palace to gather information to aid in Wil getting her kingdom back. But between Melanie’s strange behavior, the leader of the Ospreys acting sketchy, and the continuing appearance of Black Knife, Wil’s fight gets harder and harder to decide what exactly she is fighting for and why.

I don’t want to lie, I struggled in the beginning reading this one. Fantasy books are newish to me so it sometimes takes a while for me to get into them. I’m used to contemporaries that get right into the story or dystopians that start with the action. I’ve come to learn that fantasy books are about the set up in the beginning. It is about getting you to the point that you can’t put the book down and you don’t want to. I had this trouble with Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta and I started to feel sad that The Orphan Queen was going to be like that for me. And then I hit a part of the story and I was SUCKED IN, INVESTED, NEEDED TO KNOW. What was once Finnikin of the Rock now became Finnikin meets Spider Man and I never wanted the story to end. Jodi Meadows sucked me in with her tale and her characters and I was done for.

Wilhelmina was awesome. I mean she was royalty yet she was also a hardcore fighter. She had no fear which made her an amazing ally and a scary opponent. And with Black Knife (more on him later) by her side, almost impossible to beat. Even having been through everything she had been through she was fighting for her people and being a leader to a kingdom that was under the rule of an imposter. But she was also a teenage girl. She was still trying to figure out who and what she was. She was trying to come to terms with her magic (which was outlawed) and her undeniable attraction to Black Knife. At times she would seem so invincible but then you would see the insecurities and your heart would break. Like I said, Wilhelmina was awesome.

And Black Knife! What to say about sexy, mysterious Black Knife. He was actually hard to figure out in the beginning. He seemed like the bad guy, turning people in without reasoning, just because they used magic. But as you got to know him through his nights with Wil, you saw there was a complex guy under there. And can we talk about the attraction simmering between Wil and Black Knife? I’m still fanning myself. He is just everything! And finding out who he really is?? Oh yeah, that was fun too. 😉

For a book that started out slowish, I freaking loved it. Thinking back on it I now understand all the set up that lead to the second half of the book. The slow burn makes sense now and I can appreciate it for what it was. It set up a phenomenal story of war, fighting, love, and picking sides. It built a world that you as a reader want to see succeed and flourish. It made you feel for these characters. And it made you get to such a worked up level that you almost threw the book when you finished. (Side eyes Jodi Meadows). Pick up The Orphan Queen, and you will 100% know what I mean.

otherbooks
incarnateasunderinfinite1

reread5

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen).

*A Kippy is a cat.

FIND IT: GOODREADS || AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || INDIEBOUND || BOOK DEPOSITORY

Along with my review for this tour I decided to dress Wilhelmina. Wil is a very complex character that fights for what she believes in. In the very first pages of the book you will see why I chose what I did for her to wear.

wil

Review/Fan Creations blog tour schedule

3/2 – Andi’s ABCs
3/3 – Hello, Chelly
3/4 – Book Emoji
3/5 – So Obsessed With
3/6 – Tune into Books
3/9 – Ticket to Anywhere
3/10 – Disquietus Reads
3/11 – A Backwards Story
3/12 – Writer of Wrongs
3/13 – Alexa Loves Books

giveaway

Harper Collins has graciously offering to giveaway a copy of The Orphan Queen to one of my lovely readers. This is for US mailing addresses only and will run from midnight on March 2, 2015 until March 8, 2015 at 11:59PM EST. Please fill out the rafflecopter entry below and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*tour banner by Rachel at Hello, Chelly

Continue Reading