On My Radar – June Releases (11)

Summer weather is slowly starting to show up all over the country. In Boston is has been 90+ the past couple of days (it will be back to normal this weekend). With summer around the corner it means summer months are going to be starting which means new releases.

Currently there are 15 books I am excited for in June. Some I have already read and others I’m excited to check out. With June a week and a half away I thought I would highlight a few of the books I’m really excited to either read or see out in the wild

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Here Lies Daniel Tate by Cristin Terrill
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A young, street-savvy runaway looking for a place to call home realized he might have conned his way into the wrong family in this fast-paced and thrilling novel from award-winning author Cristin Terrill.

When ten-year-old Daniel Tate went missing from one of California's most elite communities, he left no trace. He simply vanished.

Six years later, when he resurfaces on a snowy street in Vancouver, he's no longer the same boy. His sandy hair is darker, the freckles are gone, and he's initially too traumatized to speak, but he's alive. His overjoyed family brings him home to a world of luxury and comfort he can barely remember. In time, they assure him, he'll recover his memories; all that matters now is they're together again.

It's perfect. A miracle. Except for one thing.

He isn't Daniel Tate.

He's a petty con artist who accidentally stumbled into the scam of a lifetime, and he soon learns he's not the only one in the Tate household with something to hide. The family has as many secrets as they have millions in the bank, and one of them might be ready to kill to keep the worst one buried.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Once and for All by Sarah Dessen
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber
Published by Thomas Nelson
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel--Earth's charming young playboy--the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
on June 13th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.
Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Salvaged by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver #3
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
on June 20th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And I just realized most of these come out on June 6th. OOPS. Hope you are ready to get your read on.

If you are looking for other books on my radar you can check out my June shelf on Goodreads HERE.

What’s on your radar in June?

Continue Reading

Mini Reviews #1

mini

Mini Reviews #1All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Published by Knopf
on January 6th 2015
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon, Goodreads

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. 

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. 

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. 

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review

I’m the black sheep of the group with All the Bright Places. I know many many people loved this book, but I just couldn’t connect to it myself. I don’t know what it was but I didn’t cry or feel even the tiniest bit emotionally invested in Theodore and Violet’s story which made me sad. Honestly I kept having this feeling as I read that I would have loved Theodore and Violet in another book. There was something off putting to me about the humor added to a book that really was a very serious subject and because of that I never got myself fully invested in the lives of these characters. I guess I can see why people would love it, maybe, but sadly I wasn’t one of those people.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini Reviews #1Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen
Published by Viking Juvenile
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Amazon, Goodreads

Peyton, Sydney's charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion's share of their parents' attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton's increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.The uber-popular Sarah Dessen explores her signature themes of family, self-discovery, and change in her twelfth novel, sure to delight her legions of fans.

Review

I struggled with Saint Anything. After I finished I initially gave it 3.5 stars but the more I let the book settle and marinate I realized that I didn’t like it really. I mean I liked parts of it but as I started to think about it the parts I didn’t like really started to gnaw at me and they became the focus of the book more than what I did like. Honestly I hated the parents, was mildly in like with Sydney and okay about Mac. I didn’t see the chemistry between Sydney and Mac the more I thought about it and I HATED the part with Sydney’s brother’s friend that was beyond creepy. The way the whole situation was handled with him really left a bad taste in my mouth which made it hard as a Dessen fan to really like this one which made me sad. I wish I could talk about the things I did enjoy but sadly I just can’t. This just wasn’t a book for me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini Reviews #1Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Published by Balzer + Bray
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Amazon, Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Review

Another book that I was the black sheep on. I don’t know if this was one of those books that is too hyped so when I read it is fell flatter than expected or if it was just a book that I wasn’t impressed with. Honestly I can see what people love about it. Simon and Blue’s emails are awesome and I LOVED the last 40 pages of the book. But I felt I was constantly waiting for the wow moment that made everyone fall in love. And truthfully I never got it. Like I said the last 40 pages were awesome, but I wanted more of that awesome. I wanted to know what happened after and I wanted Martin to have to face consequences for his actions but I never got that. In the end I liked it but I didn’t love it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini Reviews #1Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Published by Balzer + Bray
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon, Goodreads

The romance of Beauty and the Beast meets the adventure of Graceling in a dazzling fantasy novel about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

For fans of bestselling An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thorns and Roses, this gorgeously written debut infuses the classic fairy tale with glittering magic, a feisty heroine, and a romance sure to take your breath away.

Betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom, Nyx has always known that her fate was to marry him, kill him, and free her people from his tyranny. But on her seventeenth birthday when she moves into his castle high on the kingdom's mountaintop, nothing is what she expected—particularly her charming and beguiling new husband. Nyx knows she must save her homeland at all costs, yet she can't resist the pull of her sworn enemy—who's gotten in her way by stealing her heart.

Review

I think I had one problem reading this book which made me not love it as much as I expected. That problem is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. The reason that was a problem was because I read that first and I’m insanely in love with that book because of that I kept comparing Cruel Beauty to it which I know is not fair, but I couldn’t help it. Instead of getting wrapped up in the story of the Gentle Lord and Nyx I kept thinking about Maas’s world as it made reading this one hard. I mean don’t get me wrong they are different books, but they are based off of the same fairytale. I did like Nyx and the Gentle Lord’s relationship so that made reading the book easy. And even though I figured out what was happening really really early, I enjoyed the back story too. I guess when it comes down to it, it is a “It’s not you, it’s me” kind of problem. But I would definitely say to try this one. And I’m looking forward to Crimson Bound too as I like how Hodge writes stories.

Continue Reading

Review: The Moon and More – Sarah Dessen (Giveaway)

Review: The Moon and More – Sarah Dessen (Giveaway)The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen
Published by Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
on June 4th 2013
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Amazon, Goodreads

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo's sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby. Emaline's mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he's convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby? Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she's going? Sarah Dessen's devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

thoughts1

Reading a Sarah Dessen book is a lot like coming home after being away on a trip. It’s comforting and it’s familiar. She has this thing about her writing that just makes you feel you are where you are supposed to be. I first encountered it when I read my first Dessen, Along for the Ride, then again when I read my favorite Dessen, The Truth About Forever, and every other Dessen book after. The Moon and More, my latest Dessen read definitely fit right in with the rest.

The story in The Moon and More is about Emaline, a girl from Colby (yes, that Colby!) that is spending her last summer in her small coastal town before heading to college. All her life she has been content with the small town life with her mom, stepdad, sisters and boyfriend. But Emaline’s father wants more for her as does the new boy from New York, Theo. As college gets closer and closer Emaline’s safe, comfortable world starts shifting and unraveling. Does Emaline have to stay stagnant in Colby where she knows and loves everything or can she accept the changes and still hold all that is dear to her in her heart?

I’m not gonna lie, The Moon and More is a quiet book. The pace is not quick, but the story is still there. Actually that was my favorite part of the book, Emaline’s story. Usually I’m a romance gal. I love the romantic relationship/dating aspect of books. The one in The Moon and More though didn’t do it for me. What did was Emaline and her family, Emaline and Daisy, Emaline and Morris, Emaline and Benji, and Emaline and Colby itself. Those things were the stars of the book. Emaline learned who she was by her connections to the people in her life and the small town she loved. She was able to grow and make mistakes but also know who was on her side and always would be. For once with me it wasn’t about the girl and her boyfriend, but about the girl embracing change and understanding it didn’t mean you had to lose who you are in the process.

As I said before, reading The Moon and More was like coming home. It was a quintessential Sarah Dessen book. It had a main character with a voice and a setting that you will want to hop in a car and head to immediately. One of those good summer reads. Thank you once again for giving me that feeling Ms. Dessen.

otherbooks
9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.inddthislullaby9780142415566_AlongForTheR_CV.indd

Currently there is a contest each week (on Fridays). Post a picture on Instagram or Facebook of yourself with pictures of you and your Dessen books. Use the hashtag #IHeartDessen. On 7/31 at the end of the campaign, one winner will be picked to win a full set of 12 Sarah Dessen books and a Tote bag of Summer Essentials.

About Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen is one of the most popular writers for young adults. She is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of many novels, which have received numerous awards and rave reviews, and have sold more than seven million copies. She lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with her husband, Jay, and their daughter, Sasha Clementine.

giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading