Review: Man Cuffed – Sarina Bowen and Tanya Eby

Review: Man Cuffed – Sarina Bowen and Tanya EbyMan Cuffed by Sarina Bowen, Tanya Eby
Series: Man Hands #4
Published by Tuxbury Publishing LLC
Published: November 19, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-stars

A new comedy from the USA Today bestselling duo!

MacA good cop can always spot trouble. That’s why my senses started pinging the moment I met the hottie next door. The neighborhood may never be the same. First she confuses me for a male stripper and tries to remove my uniform. (The guys on the force will never let me live that down.) And then there’s the breaking and entering.I don’t know what to do with her. My libido has a few ideas of its own, though. Bad, bad ideas.

MegHey, it’s not my fault that Hot Cop’s nightstick gets excited every time we see each other. And I can’t help that someone broke into his apartment. Fine—that last thing was totally my fault. And I intend to make amends. So when he needs a date for his sister’s wedding, I’m there. This is right up my alley. I’m an actor. By the time it’s over, his entire family will believe we’re a couple. Even him.

Warning: may cause unrestrained giggling in public. Contains: a bridezilla with a turkey leg, a flash mob, and a growly hero.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I was introduced to the Man Hands series in the beginning of 2019 by a friend that knew I was a huge Sarina Bowen fan. It had somehow had slipped my radar so when my friend said to check the series out I read all 3 over the first three months of the year. They made me giggle a lot and laugh out loud a lot and I was completely in love with Boy Toy (book #3). So when I saw there was a 4th one coming I was pretty excited. In the end though, there were parts I really loved and parts I was confused by. But like all Man Hands books I laughed a lot, and Meg and Mac together were a trip.

Man Cuffed is the story of Meg and Mac. When Meg meets Mac she mistakes him for a stripper instead of an actual cop. But whatever, she’ll never see him again, right? Wrong. As Meg finds out, after a breaking and entering incident, hot cop Mac is her neighbor. Soon she is sending a lot of time with Mac and the two actual form a friendship. But Mac needs a date to his sister’s wedding and Meg is determined to make his family think they are a couple. What could possible go wrong? Basically… everything.

For me, Mac and Meg’s easy, quirky friendship was the highlight of this story. They were completely different people with completely different lives and careers, yet they had this instant comfort with one another like they had been friends for years. It was easy to buy into their attraction because of that comfort. It made some of the zany things they did feel normal and not over the top. They had a natural chemistry that added to the story and they played off each other so well. I loved that part of the book. And Meg was so crazy crackers I couldn’t help but adore her and her wacky ways. She seemed like the friend that everyone has that just beats to their own drum and you accept that about them and grow to love it.

There were definitely things that confused me in Man Cuffed and stuff I wasn’t crazy about but I don’t want to dwell on that too much. Not every book is going to be a favorite and that is what happened to me with this one. I just found some parts to be over the top and not really fitting into the rest of the story, but that is not how everyone feels and you might not either. All I know is if Sarina(and Tanya) is writing it, I’m reading it, and you should too. Definitely check out the Man Hands series and be prepared to laugh.

Continue Reading

Briefly Romantic (5)

Briefly Romantic (5)Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books
Published: October 22, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-stars

As an adventurous send-off to her childhood, eighteen-year-old Tate Jones travels with her grandmother from their small town in Northern California to London. But the vacation of a lifetime is wonderfully derailed by the appearance of two charming Vermont farmers: grandfather Luther and his handsome grandson Sam.

Sam and Tate fall hard and fast. For two glorious weeks, the couple share their hopes, dreams, and secrets. Sam admits he suspects his grandfather is dying and that this could be the last trip they take together, and Tate reveals that she is the hidden daughter of one of the biggest film stars in the world—a secret she’s never told anyone before.

But when Tate is exposed by a crush of cameras and reporters, she knows she's been betrayed by the one person she thought she could trust. She is forced to decide whether she will return to her quiet life or embrace being in the public eye. So when Sam reappears in her world more than a decade later, can Tate forgive the past and rekindle the passion they shared on their magical trip abroad? And does she even want to?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

What to say about Twice in a Blue Moon. I’m not going to lie, I enjoyed this enough and had a mostly fun time reading it, but when I hit about the 75% mark the book took a drastic turn for me and I didn’t love it as much as I originally was. Sam and Tate had a great relationship and I could see their chemistry but the end of this one really threw me for a loop and it took so much away from what I was loving to begin with. Long after I read it I am still wondering what was the point of some of the stuff that went down in the end. I also didn’t love how we didn’t really get to know Tate as Tate and not this actress. I guess in the end this was just not what I expected from the minds of Christina Lauren. It was good, but not the best. Something was missing for me.

Briefly Romantic (5)The Play by Elle Kennedy
Series: Briar U #3
Published: October 7, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

A brand-new standalone novel in the New York Times bestselling Briar U series!

What I learned after last year’s distractions cost my hockey team our entire season? No more screwing up. No more screwing, period. As the new team captain, I need a new philosophy: hockey and school now, women later. Which means that I, Hunter Davenport, am officially going celibate…no matter how hard that makes things.

But there’s nothing in the rulebook that says I can’t be friends with a woman. And I won’t lie—my new classmate Demi Davis is one cool chick. Her smart mouth is hot as hell, and so is the rest of her, but the fact that she’s got a boyfriend eliminates the temptation to touch her.

Except three months into our friendship, Demi is single and looking for a rebound.

And she’s making a play for me.

Avoiding her is impossible. We’re paired up on a yearlong school project, but I’m confident I can resist her. We’d never work, anyway. Our backgrounds are too different, our goals aren’t aligned, and her parents hate my guts.

Hooking up is a very bad idea. Now I just have to convince my body—and my heart.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I always get so excited when Elle Kennedy releases a new Briar book. I know that not only will we get new, fun characters, we will get to see some old favorites. But The Play was a little more than that for me. Basically The Play made Hunter my the new Dean(from The Score)! He made me laugh so much with some of the things he said and did I couldn’t help but be reminded of my favorite Elle character, Dean Di Laurentis. And Hunter and Demi together were fire. They had such a great, natural chemistry and I loved how it started with a friendship. With that said, there was a part toward the end that I wasn’t crazy about and seemed a little out of left field and I think there could have been drama added another way. But all in all I loved this one a lot and look forward to more in the Briar universe for sure. FYI, this is a long one so be prepared.

Briefly Romantic (5)Moonlighter by Sarina Bowen
Series: The Company #1
Published by Tuxbury Publishing LLC
Published: October 21, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

Only in my family could a professional hockey player earning seven million dollars a year be considered a slacker.

I’m at the height of my athletic career. Yet my arrogant brother is always trying to recruit me into the family business: a global security company so secretive that I don’t even know its name.

Pass, thanks. I don’t need a summer job.

But the jerk ambushes me with a damsel in distress. That damsel is Alex, the competitive, sassy girl I knew when we were kids. Now she’s a drop-dead gorgeous woman in deep trouble.

So guess who’s on a flight to Hawaii?

It’s going to be a long week in paradise. My job is keeping Alex safe, while her job is torturing me with her tiny bikinis. Or maybe we’re torturing each other. It’s all snark and flirting until the threat against Alex gets serious. And this jock must become her major league protector.

Moonlighter is a stand-alone novel. No cliffhangers, no prior experience necessary. Contains: hackers, hockey players, and a hotel room with only one bed.

So far my all time favorite book in the Brooklyn Bruiser universe has been Brooklynaire. I loved that the moment I read and I loved it even more when I read it again. So I was super excited to hear we were getting a book about Alex, a friend of Nate that appeared in Brooklynaire. She had an interesting character arc in Nate’s story so I was curious where that would lead. Well in Moonlighter we find out and let me tell you it was worth the wait. Alex’s journey is amazing and seeing her interact with Bayer was even better. The two of them together definitely brought out sides the other needed to show. They were a fantastic couple that had oodles of chemistry and were a pleasure to read. You could really see their history when they were around each other and I for one loved that, that natural vibe between them. I do think the book was a tad long with some stuff happening that didn’t feel needed, and some stuff I still want answers on (I hope that is to come in more books), but all in all it was a seriously fun read and one I think you need to pick up.

Continue Reading

Review: Superfan – Sarina Bowen

Review: Superfan – Sarina BowenSuperfan by Sarina Bowen
Published by Tuxbury Publishing LLC
Published: June 25, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

Sometimes lady luck shakes your hand, and sometimes she smacks your face. Sometimes she does both on the same day.

Three years ago I met the most amazing girl in the world. We were both down on our luck. Then I got that call—the one that tells you to get your buns on a plane to go meet your destiny.

But the girl was left behind. I didn’t have her phone number, and she didn’t know my real name.

While I became a professional hockey player, she became a superstar, with platinum records and legions of fans. And a slick, music producer boyfriend who treated her badly.

But fate wasn’t done with us yet. When Delilah turns up at a hockey game, I can’t resist making contact. The internet swoons when I ask her out on a date.

She might not remember me. But her jerkface ex does. He’ll do anything to keep us apart.

Good thing athletes never give up. This time I’m playing for keeps.

More information at SarinaBowen.com

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

It is no secret I’m a huge fan of Sarina Bowen. As soon as her books are up for preorder I have it purchased. Especially if it is one of the guys from the Brooklyn Bruiser hockey team. So when I heard about Silas’s book it was a natural auto-buy. And man was I not disappointed. Silas and Delilah’s story was what I was hoping for. It was filled with oodles of chemistry and heart and I was one happy reader.

Superfan is the story of Silas, the back-up goalie for the Brooklyn Bruisers. Silas is having the time of his career playing for the Bruisers after his first time playing pro was a bust, but something is missing for him, and it is Delilah, the girl that got away 3 years ago. When Silas ends up tweeting her while she is at a hockey game for the Bruiser’s rival team, the internet takes notice and soon a date is set up. But nothing is ever easy for Silas, especially when Delilah doesn’t immediately remember him, but her ex certainly does and will stop at nothing to make sure this reunion doesn’t happen.

What I loved about Superfan most was the chemistry between Delilah and Silas. Right from the start I noticed it and was sucked in. They both came from different worlds but they had the same drive and the same heart and I loved that. Silas was such a nice guy and he had felt terrible for 3 years for how things went down and made things right when the timing was right for both of them. I loved how they worked together to figure out a way to make things work for them when they each had two different careers on two different coasts. It wasn’t always easy, but it was what worked for them.

If I’m honest though, my favorite part was getting to see my guy Nate again. I missed him in Overnight Sensation so it was nice to be able to ‘catch-up’ and see how things were for him. Spoiler alert: Things were really good for Nate. 🙂

All in all, I had a fun time reading Superfan. There was some drama, but it didn’t outweigh the good stuff that made you smile and feel mushy in the middle. It was a welcome addition to this series filled with companion books and one I would recommend you read.

Continue Reading

Cover Reveal/Excerpt – Superfan by Sarina Bowen {giveaway}

I’ve been a huge fan of Sarina Bowen for a while now so I’m super excited to get to share the cover for her new book, Superfan, out June 25th. It is book 3 in the Brooklyn series and I can’t wait to read it!

Superfan by Sarina Bowen
Published by Tuxbury Publishing LLC
Published: June 25, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Sometimes lady luck shakes your hand, and sometimes she smacks your face. Sometimes she does both on the same day.

Three years ago I met the most amazing girl in the world. We were both down on our luck. Then I got that call—the one that tells you to get your buns on a plane to go meet your destiny.

But the girl was left behind. I didn’t have her phone number, and she didn’t know my real name.

While I became a professional hockey player, she became a superstar, with platinum records and legions of fans. And a slick, music producer boyfriend who treated her badly.

But fate wasn’t done with us yet. When Delilah turns up at a hockey game, I can’t resist making contact. The internet swoons when I ask her out on a date.

She might not remember me. But her jerkface ex does. He’ll do anything to keep us apart.

Good thing athletes never give up. This time I’m playing for keeps.

More information at SarinaBowen.com

Are you ready for it?

Here it is:

 

“Would you like a beer?” the cute bartender asks me.

I glance at the pile of mint leaves on his cutting board and hesitate. “Sure,” I say. But the mint looks so fresh and pretty.

“I could make you something different.”

“Beer is great. A cold…”

“—lager,” he finishes. “No glass, no opener.”

When I look up to flash him a smile, my heart does a little somersault. Those kind eyes are smiling at me, too. “Thank you,” I whisper.

“It’s really no problem.” He turns toward the beer cooler. “You’re an easy customer, trust me.”

But I really meant—thank you for remembering. As he leans down to grab a bottle for me, I find myself admiring the strong muscles in his back. Stop it, I admonish myself. It only gets worse when he turns around and places the bottle in front of me. I’ve never seen hands like his. I didn’t even know wrists could look muscular.

Even so. Ogling him is not why I came here. I pull out my keychain opener and remove the cap from my beer.

He discards it, gives me another pleasant smile and then picks up his paring knife again.

I take a sip, wondering when he’s going to mention my show at the Coconut Club. He was there. I saw him.

He separates some mint leaves from their stems and says nothing.

I last about seventeen seconds. “Well?”

“Well?” He looks up. “Sorry?”

“Jesus lord.” I close my eyes and then open them again. This is not going how I’d hoped it would. “What did you think?

“Of…?” His amazing eyes are studying me.

“Forget I asked.” I take a swig of beer.

“Think about what?” He pushes the cutting board aside, and his smile turns knowing.

“My set at the Coconut Club! I saw you holding up that wall in the back. Don’t lie.”

He tips his head back and lets out a sudden laugh. “I’m so busted. I loved your show, but I didn’t expect you to spot me.”

“You loved it so much you weren’t going to say anything?” The sentence sounds crazy to my own ears. I put down the beer. “You know what? Never mind. I’m just being psycho right now. This town is getting into my head.”

“Listen, girly.” He braces both (muscular!) hands on the bar and looks me right in the eye. “I loved it so much that I don’t even know what to say about it. From that moment at the beginning—when you shut that asshole’s maw? To the part where you made a lady cry.” He shakes his head. “I couldn’t look away. And I never wanted it to end.”

I give him a slow blink, just trying to take that in. It’s so much more than I was even hoping to hear.

“Shit, Delilah. If that set doesn’t win you whatever contract you’re looking for, they don’t even deserve you.”

Something warm and unfamiliar settles into the center of my belly. “That might be the nicest thing anyone ever said to me. Which only means you’re still trying to get my phone number.”

He laughs immediately. “Can’t both things be true? Both my musical assessment and my interest in your evening plans?”

“Because you know so much about music.” I flip my hair and take another sip of beer.

“Look. I don’t know shit about music. But I know plenty about talent.” He leans down on a set of forearms I shouldn’t be noticing. “I know that talent sometimes takes a nap at just the wrong moment, but it never stays asleep for long. I also know that luck matters, too. If they don’t give you what you want, it won’t be your fucking fault.”

“Thank you,” I say quietly.

But he’s not done. “I saw something else valuable the other night. You’re good in the clinch. And that counts for double, I swear to God.”

“The clinch?”

“Yeah. You’re not just good at practice.” He pauses, wrinkling up his interesting nose. “What word would a musician use? Okay—you’re not a rehearsal musician. That stage was like your home. Either that or you fake it really well. That’s going to pay your rent someday, I promise.”

“Wow.” It’s like he looked right into my terrified little soul and found the very thing I needed to hear. Those beautiful eyes of his are practically burning me right now, so I have to look away. “Thank you. Really. I really needed that pep talk.”

I make the mistake of looking up at him again, and, for a split second, I see pure yearning. It’s like our souls vibrate at exactly the same frequency. And I have no idea what to do with that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Seriously I can’t wait to read this book! It fits so well with the other 2 books in the series!

To get you excited there is another great surprise:

 

Be the first to read! Three winners (US or Canada) will win early signed paperback copies of Superfan!

Enter here: https://geni.us/SuperfanGiveaway

Make sure you add this series to your TBR!

Continue Reading

Review: Hard Hitter – Sarina Bowen

Review: Hard Hitter – Sarina BowenHard Hitter by Sarina Bowen
Published by Berkley Books
Published: January 3rd 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

He’s a fighter in the rink, but he’s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...

As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team’s massage therapist.

After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she’s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers’ MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good...

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t in love with the first book in the Brooklyn Bruisers series, Rookie Move. It was just alright to me. I wasn’t wowed or sucked in. So I will admit I was a little nervous to read the second book, Hard Hitter. But since I was almost burned not reading a second book in a series (that I loved) because I didn’t fall insanely in love with book one, I decided to read it. I’m so happy I did. Hard Hitter was so so good. Probably my favorite Sarina Bowen (excluding her co-authored book Him) to date. It had everything I wanted in a romance and left me just feeling happy and wanting more.

What I loved about Hard Hitter was the natural chemistry between Ariana Bettini and Patrick O’Doul. Sometimes in a romance book the relationship can feel a little forced. There just isn’t always that spark. But the spark between Ari and O’Doul was amazing. There was this natural build-up between them that made their story sexy and fun. They both had walls up, but they didn’t force those walls down or completely hide from what was happening between the two of them. Even the always present, random break-up, wasn’t that much of a struggle.

The other thing I liked was the growth of Patrick O’Doul. In Rookie Move he wasn’t very likable. There was something about him that rubbed me the wrong way. But in Hard Hitter you got to really learn what he was like and what made him tick and why he was the way he was. Ari also brought out another side of him, a sweet, compassionate side and I loved seeing that. Watching him slowly come out of his self-imposed isolation was a great addition to this book.

Where there things I wish weren’t in Hard Hitter? Definitely. If I could have removed some of the side story stuff I would have and it would have been a 5 star read for me. But even when that I found myself wanting to devour this book and I think you will too. Patrick and Ari…two thumbs up from me.

 

Continue Reading