TBR – Upcoming Reads

I sometimes, all the time, get stressed out by the shear amount of books I own or want to read. It can be very overwhelming to look at all the options available to me. Because of this I often forget that I want to read something and then start something else. It is a vicious cycle and I try desperately to break it. I have yet to be successful but I still try. Will that being said there are 6 books that are high on my TBR priority list. Wonder how this will go.

 

TBR – Upcoming ReadsJane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
on September 19th 2017
Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLittle & Lion by Brandy Colbert
on August 8th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself--or worse.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsWicked Sexy Liar (Wild Seasons, #4) by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books
on February 2nd 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

When three college besties meet three hot guys in Vegas, anything can—and does—happen. Book Four in the New York Times Wild Seasons series that began with Sweet Filthy Boy (the Romantic Times book of the year that Sylvia Day called “a sexy, sweet treasure of a story”), Dirty Rowdy Thing, and Dark Wild Night.

For two people ambivalent about dating and love, they sure get naked around each other an awful lot . . .

London Hughes is very content to surf daily, tend bar, hang out with her group of friends, and slowly orient herself in the years after college. Everything’s going great and according to the non-plan.

But when a wave knocks her for a loop one morning, then Luke Sutter’s flirtatious smile knocks her for another that evening, she veers slightly off course…and into his path. Sure, he’s a total player, but the Why not—it’s only one night is a persistent voice in her ear.

For his part, Luke’s been on hookup autopilot for so long that he rarely ever pauses to consider what he’s doing. But after an amazing time with London, he realizes that he hasn’t been moving on from a devastating heartbreak so much as he’s been drifting to wherever—and whomever—the current takes him. With London he wants more.

Every relationship involves two people…plus their pasts. And as much as she enjoys her fling with Luke, when London learns about his past—more specifically, who’s in it—everything becomes the brand of complicated she strives to avoid. It’s up to Luke then to change some things in order to try and ensure he’s not something she’ll outright avoid as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLove Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsThe Knowing (The Forgetting, #2) by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
on October 10th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Samara doesn't forget. And she isn't the only one. Safe underground in the city of New Canaan, she lives in a privileged world free from the Forgetting. Yet she wonders if she really is free, with the memories that plague her and secrets that surround her. Samara is determined to unearth the answers, even if she must escape to the old, cursed city of Canaan to find them.

Someone else is on their way to Canaan too . . . a spaceship from Earth is heading toward the planet, like a figment of the city's forgotten past. Beck is traveling with his parents, researchers tasked with finding the abandoned settlement effort. When Beck is stranded without communication, he will find more in Canaan than he was ever trained for. What will happen when worlds and memories, beliefs -- and truths -- collide?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsReign the Earth (The Elementae, #1) by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
on January 30th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s coming up on you TBR? Have you read any of these?

Continue Reading

Review: The Forgetting – Sharon Cameron

Review: The Forgetting – Sharon CameronThe Forgetting by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
on September 13th 2016
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Amazon, Goodreads

What isn't written, isn't remembered. Even your crimes.

Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person's memories – of parents, children, love, life, and self – are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn't written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence – before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

I had heard such great things about The Forgetting that I knew immediately that I wanted to read it. The concept reminded me (in a small way anyway) of one of my favorite Lifetime movies that starred Keri Russell, pre-Felicity days, called The Lottery.  It by no means has the same concept, but I couldn’t stop thinking about that movie and how they are kind of like half sisters. Anyway, I was really excited for the book and I can report that it mostly lived up to my expectations. I say mostly because I did have one part that just pulled me out of the story because it isn’t my thing. But other than that it was a solid read with a mystery and creep factor and hardcore swoons.

It’s really hard to explain what the book is about and what took me out of the story without giving away some of the mystery. What I can tell you is that every 12 years something happens in Canaan and everyone forgets. Well everyone except the main character Nadia. Through Nadia’s eyes you get to see what it is like for someone that remembers when everyone else doesn’t. You see her struggle with this and try to close herself off and you really can’t blame her. She knows once again she will have to live through no one remember anything so it is easier if she doesn’t feel. That is until she lets Gray in. And oh how I love Gray. Slowly Gray chips away at the lock on Nadia’s feelings and soon the two of them find themselves somewhere they never expected, unraveling a secret no one has ever thought to question…what actually causes the forgetting?

What really made this book for me was the relationship between Nadia and everyone around her. She knew everything about everyone while they only knew her for 12 years, but they never knew the real her. They only knew the one she let them know. Even her sisters didn’t know who she really was and what she knew. The only person she let in was Gray and I just loved that. He was perfect for her and exactly what she needed. I loved seeing them blossom and grow as they uncovered the secrets of Canaan. It was swoony and beautiful and got me teary eyed at one point. Honestly the book is worth the read just for this alone.

All in all, The Forgetting is worth the hype. It was entertaining and a great twist of lies and stories and hidden background information. I did struggle with some of the plot, but that is just a personal thing for me. I really do recommend checking this one out. I don’t think you will be sorry.

Continue Reading

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)

Over the summer I did two separate posts (HERE and HERE) about books On my Radar. Sadly I wasn’t that great with my August post, but such is the way of things. I still plan to read those…I hope…but I have 5 more books to add to that list. Now these I really hope to get done in October/early November, but we shall see:

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)The Black Key by Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #3
Published by HarperTeen
on October 4th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

For too long, Violet and the people of the outer circles of the Lone City have lived in service to the royalty of the Jewel. But now the secret society known as the Black Key is preparing to seize power.

And while Violet knows she is at the center of this rebellion, she has a more personal stake in it—her sister, Hazel, has been taken by the Duchess of the Lake. Now, after fighting so hard to escape the Jewel, Violet must do everything in her power to return to save not only Hazel, but the future of the Lone City.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
Amazon, Goodreads

What isn't written, isn't remembered. Even your crimes. Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of the Forgetting, a day of no remorse, when each person's memories -- of parents, children, love, life, and self -- are lost. Unless they have been written.

In Canaan, your book is your truth and your identity, and Nadia knows exactly who hasn't written the truth. Because Nadia is the only person in Canaan who has never forgotten.

But when Nadia begins to use her memories to solve the mysteries of Canaan, she discovers truths about herself and Gray, the handsome glassblower, that will change her world forever. As the anarchy of the Forgetting approaches, Nadia and Gray must stop an unseen enemy that threatens both their city and their own existence -- before the people can forget the truth. And before Gray can forget her.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)Fireworks by Katie Cotugno
Published by Balzer + Bray
Amazon, Goodreads

From Katie Cotugno, bestselling author of 99 Days, comes Fireworks—about a girl who is competing with her best friend to become the new pop star of the moment—and all the drama and romance that comes with it—set in Orlando during the late-'90s boy-and-girl-band craze.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She was the talented one, the one who had been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, was the level-headed one, always on the sidelines, cheering her best friend along.
But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, New York Times bestselling author Katie Cotugno’s Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Amazon, Goodreads

Sloane isn't expecting to fall in with a group of friends when she moves from New York to Florida—especially not a group of friends so intense, so in love, so all-consuming. Yet that's exactly what happens.

Sloane becomes closest to Vera, a social-media star who lights up any room, and Gabe, Vera's twin brother and the most serious person Sloane's ever met. When a beloved painting by the twins' late mother goes missing, Sloane takes on the responsibility of tracking it down, a journey that takes her across state lines—and ever deeper into the twins' lives.

Filled with intense and important friendships, a wonderful warts-and-all family, shiveringly good romantic developments, and sharp, witty dialogue, this story is about finding the people you never knew you needed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar: Top TBR Books (3)Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
Published by Scholastic Inc.
Amazon, Goodreads

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected...

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are the books on your radar?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Continue Reading