Waiting For…

I’m aware it is only July of 2017. In my mind I know there are plenty of books coming out in the next months that I am desperate to read. But if I’m honest I keep looking at my 2018 book list on Goodreads and getting all the book envy. There are so many books coming out in 2018 and I’m dying for them all. I mean there is the given, the 7th book in the Throne of Glass series and the announce 4th book in the ACOTAR series, plus the Meet Cute compilation, but there are some series that are starting and ending and plain old books by authors I love. Really, is there anything wrong with being excited for 2018 and all the amazing books that will be released? I think not.

Currently I have 28 books on my 2018 TBR, but I thought I would showcase the 6 I’m super excited for:

 

Waiting For…Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
on January 30th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…The Complication by Suzanne Young
Published by Simon Pulse
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

How do you go back to a life you can’t remember? Find out in this sixth novel in the New York Times bestselling Program series from Suzanne Young.

Every cure has a cost.

Tatum Masterson learned this after years of being monitored by The Program. She witnessed it when her boyfriend, Wes, came back changed, erased. And now, even the newest “cure” has a heavy cost—one she and Wes paid.

The Adjustment came into Tatum’s life just when she thought she needed it most, a promise for Wes to get back his forgotten memories. But when the procedure went wrong, a revelation shattered everything Tatum thought she knew.

Now, with no one left to trust, Tatum must find out what really happened last summer. And with the help of the boyfriend she lost, Tatum will have to dig into the past and future of The Program and its handlers.

And discover the true cost of a cure.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Heart on Fire by Amanda Bouchet
on January 2nd 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

The riveting conclusion to the Kingmaker Chronicles, available January 2018!

Who is Catalia Fisa?With the help of pivotal figures from her past, Cat begins to understand the root of her exceptional magic, her fated union with Griffin Sinta, and Griffin's role in shaping her destiny.

Only Cat holds the key to unlocking her own power, and that means finally accepting herself, her past, and her future in order to protect her loved ones, confront her murderous mother, and taking a final, terrifying step--reuniting all three realms and taking her place as the Queen of Thalyria.

What doesn't kill her will only make her stronger...we hope.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury Children's
on March 6th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

From the author of Letters to the Lost comes a heart-wrenching story of two teens with big secrets and a love that could set them free.

Rev Fletcher is battling the demons of his past. But with loving adoptive parents by his side, he’s managed to keep them at bay...until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back.

Emma Blue spends her time perfecting the computer game she built from scratch, rather than facing her parents’ crumbling marriage. She can solve any problem with the right code, but when an online troll’s harassment escalates, she’s truly afraid.

When Rev and Emma meet, they both long to lift the burden of their secrets and bond instantly over their shared turmoil. But when their situations turn dangerous, their trust in each other will be tested in ways they never expected. This must-read story will once again have readers falling for Brigid Kemmerer’s emotional storytelling.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Waiting For…Starry Eyes by Jenn Bennett
Published by Simon Pulse
on April 3rd 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

In this romantic dramedy from the author of Alex, Approximately, a teen girl’s way-too-ordinary life is driven off the beaten path when she’s abandoned in the wilderness with her worst adversary—the boy who broke her heart.

Ever since last year’s homecoming dance, best friends-turned-best enemies Zorie and Lennon have made an art of avoiding each other. It doesn’t hurt that their families are the modern day, Californian version of the Montagues and Capulets.

But when a group camping trip goes south, Zorie and Lennon find themselves stranded in the wilderness. Alone. Together.

What could go wrong?

With no one but each other for company, Zorie and Lennon have no choice but to hash out their issues via witty jabs and insults as they try to make their way to safety. But fighting each other while also fighting off the forces of nature makes getting out of the woods in one piece less and less likely.

And as the two travel deeper into Northern California’s rugged backcountry, secrets and hidden feelings surface. But can Zorie and Lennon’s rekindled connection survive out in the real world? Or was it just a result of the fresh forest air and the magic of the twinkling stars?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are you excited for any of these in 2018? What books do I need to have on my TBR that may be an Andi book?

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah – Erin Jade Lange {GIVEAWAY}

rbgp1

Blog Tour: Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah – Erin Jade Lange {GIVEAWAY}Rebel Bully Geek Pariah by Erin Jade Lange
Published by Bloomsbury
on February 16th 2016
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Amazon, Goodreads

"The Breakfast Club" gets a modern, high-stakes reboot in this story of four very different teens and a night that changes them forever.

The Rebel: Once popular, Andi is now a dreadlocked, tattooed wild child.
The Bully: York torments everyone who crosses his path, especially his younger brother.
The Geek: Tired of being bullied, Boston is obsessed with getting into an Ivy League college.
The Pariah: Choosing to be invisible has always worked for Sam . . . until tonight.

When Andi, York, Boston, and Sam find themselves hiding in the woods after a party gets busted by the cops, they hop into the nearest car they see and take off—the first decision of many in a night that will change their lives forever. By the light of day, these four would never be caught dead together, but when their getaway takes a dangerously unpredictable turn, sticking together could be the only way to survive.

With cinematic storytelling and compelling emotional depth, critically acclaimed author Erin Jade Lange takes readers on literary thrill ride.

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Don’t ever let your idea of what a book is get in the way of what a book really is. What do I mean by that? When I went into Rebel Bully Geek Pariah I had an idea in my head that it was going to be a story that was reminiscent of The Breakfast Club. I expected high school shenanigans and maybe 4 different POVs. I expected something that read like an 80s/90s teen movie for some reason and I don’t know why. After realizing Rebel Bully was not what I was thinking I reread the back and realized none of what was in my head was even alluded to. Instead it hunts at exactly what the story is, 4 kids that seem to be in a wrong place at the wrong time situation that spirals out of control and snowballs into an unexpected night.

Rebel Bully Geek Pariah is a story that basically takes place over one night. It’s told from Sam, the pariah’s, POV and follows the situation she finds herself in when a party is broken up by the cops. Up until this night Sam has always been invisible and suddenly she finds herself trying to stay alive with the help of Andi, the rebel, Boston, the Geek, and York the bully. What Sam thought her night was supposed to be quickly turns into her running with these other misfits to save all of their lives.

To be honest it is really hard for me to review this book without giving anything vital away. What I can tell you is that the 4 characters are very different people yet also the same. They are all searching for something in their lives, a place to just fit. They also all have built up their stereotypes so they can each have a place. But they are also all very lonely. I can also tell you that the plot is really well done. As the story unfolds each part entwines with another part leaving things connected and the reader trying to figure out just what is going to happen. It was written very well because of this and made the story a quick read.

Basically once I cleared my head of The Breakfast Club comparison that wasn’t I found Rebel Bully Geek Pariah to be a great and interesting read. I was enthralled by what was going to happen and how everything would unfold. In the end I was really happy to have read it. I just recommend you have an open mind when you do read it, and you should definitely read it.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

About Erin Jade Lange

author, journalist, obsessive-compulsive list maker.

AWKWARD 3RD-PERSON OFFICIAL BIO:
Erin writes facts by day and fiction by night. As a journalist, she is inspired by current events and real-world issues and uses her writing to explore how those issues impact teenagers.

She is an only child, so she spent a lot of time entertaining herself as a kid. This required her to rely heavily on her own imagination, which is probably why she became a writer.

Erin grew up in the cornfields of northern Illinois, along the Mississippi River in one of the few places it flows east to west. She now lives in the sunshine of Arizona and will forever be torn between her love of rivers and her love of the desert.

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:
2/22: Andi’s ABCs – Review 

 

3 Finished Copies of REBEL BULLY GEEK PARIAH (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

The ABCs with Penelope Landlow from Hold Me Like a Breath

abcs

Welcome to the ABCs, Character Edition.   Weekly this feature has always been a place for bloggers, readers, publicists and authors to show off there ABCs. Well Now the ABCs are also opened for authors to show off the ABCs for their main characters. You can still sign-up to post your own picks HERE or if you have a main character that wants to get in on the fun, sign-up HERE.

Today we have Penelope Landlow from Tiffany Schmidt‘s book Hold Me Like a Breath sharing with us the accessories, books and clothes she is lusting after.

Let’s give a warm ABCers welcome to Penelope to the ABCs, (and Tiffany)!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

penny1

Accessory: Rose Gold Tone Dorothy Medical Cuff
Early in Hold Me Like a Breath Penny throws away the medical alert bracelet that contains the information about her platelet disorder. She compares it to a shackle and feels like it represents all the reasons her family never takes her seriously. In a way, she’s right. Her family is incredibly overprotective and uses her diagnosis as an excuse to keep her safely on the sidelines and far away from their dangerous crime family dealings.

As Penny learns to stand on her own, she realizes that while she’s so much more than her autoimmune disorder and capable of so much more than her family allowed, it is also a part of who she is, and ignoring her symptoms is downright dangerous. Penny buying a new bracelet would be a statement of maturity, autonomy, and responsibility—but she’d also pick one that suits her taste. This stylish cuff would be the perfect choice for her.

Book: Stories from Hans Christian Anderson
One of Penny’s most treasured possessions in an anthology of fairy tales that her family used to read to her when she was younger. This version is illustrated by Edmund Dulac and has some of the most beautiful pictures—including my favorite Princess and the Pea painting:

penny4

Clothing: Vineyard Vines Eyelet Ruffle Shift Dress
Penny is the daughter of one of the three US families that controls the black market for trafficking human organs. She’s had a posh upbringing on her family’s estate, but because of an autoimmune disorder that causes her to bruise easily, she’s rarely allowed beyond the gates that surround the property. Penny is a fan of lighter colors and delicate prints. And nothing in any shade on the bruise spectrum. This white eyelet Vineyard Vines dress is something she’d adore.

 

The ABCs with Penelope Landlow from Hold Me Like a BreathHold Me Like a Breath (Once Upon a Crime Family, #1) by Tiffany Schmidt
Series: Once Upon a Crime Family
Published by Bloomsbury
on May 19th 2015
Amazon, Goodreads

Penelope Landlow has grown up with the knowledge that almost anything can be bought or sold—including body parts. She’s the daughter of one of the three crime families that control the black market for organ transplants.Penelope’s surrounded by all the suffocating privilege and protection her family can provide, but they can't protect her from the autoimmune disorder that causes her to bruise so easily.And in her family's line of work no one can be safe forever.All Penelope has ever wanted is freedom and independence. But when she’s caught in the crossfire as rival families scramble for prominence, she learns that her wishes come with casualties, that betrayal hurts worse than bruises, that love is a risk worth taking . . . and maybe she’s not as fragile as everyone thinks.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks Penny (and Tiffany) for playing!

If you would like to play like Penny (and Tiffany) did, sign-ups are open HERE.

 

Continue Reading