Blog Tour: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand {Giveaway}

Blog Tour: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand {Giveaway}The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand
Published by HarperTeen
Published: November 5, 2019
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
five-stars

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Back in 2015, I picked up a book called The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand. She was a new to me author (although I had heard of her Unearthly series). It had been on my TBR for about 9 months and I decide to read it and fell completely in love with it. I was engrossed from the start and devoured it in 2 days. So to say I was excited for The How and the Why when I got my hands on it is an understatement. But just like she did with The Last Time We Say Goodbye, Hand once again blew me away with The How and the Why. Simply put, it was phenomenal.

The How and the Why is about Cassandra McMurtrey, a girl that was adopted and given an amazing life with two parents that love her and have given her almost everything she has wanted. No matter how much they want, they can’t give her answers about her birth parents. But there are letters out there written to Cassandra that may just hold the answers to what she is looking for. It is just a matter of deciding if it is worth the effort to find out or if it is better to stay in the unknown.

First and foremost, what I loved about this book was the way the story was told. Each chapter alternates between Cassandra’s search for answers and the letters written 18 years earlier. It was a genius way to have the story unfold. As a reader I was able to see what Cassandra was feeling and the feelings of her birth mother at the same time. I was able to notice similarities between the two stories and make connections while I read which I really enjoyed.

I don’t want to say too much more because I don’t want to give anything away about the story. And really all I wanted to do for this review was to yell to read the book, but I will tell you that it is powerful and emotional and you may need the tissues. This is a book you do not want to miss, especially if you like realistic contemporary YA. A must read!

About Cynthia Hand

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novels THE HOW AND THE WHY and MY CALAMITY JANE (also with Ashton and Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with her husband, two cats, one crazy dog, two kids, and mountain of books.

Prize: Win a copy of The How and the Why (US Only)

Stars: 30th October 2019
Ends: 13th November 2019

a Rafflecopter giveaway

October 30th

October 31st

Lost in Storyland – Interview
Andi’s ABCs – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm  – Review + Favourite Quotes
Snark & Squee – Review

November 1st

Wishful Endings – Interview
Magical Reads – Review + Playlist
Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review + Favourite Quotes
Devourbookswithdana – Review + Favourite Quotes

November 2nd

Books of Amber – Review + Playlist
Kait Plus Books  – Review + Favourite Quotes
_bookishaestha_  – Review + Favourite Quotes

November 3rd

Here’s to Happy Endings  – Review + Favourite Quotes
The YA Obsessed – Review
Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Life With No Plot – Review

November 4th

Moonligh Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Hauntedbybooks – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Story-eyed Reviews – Review

November 5th

BookCrushin – Guest Post
Emily The Book Nerd – Review + Dream Cast + Playlist
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
Maddie.TV – Review
Continue Reading

New to You (21): April reviews The Lies About Truth by Courtney Stevens {giveaway}

Welcome to New to You!

This idea came along last year when I was supporting Lauren Miller’s newest book All Things New and I asked Kelsey to read and review Parallel, a book I have read more than once. I didn’t really get it going until December when I offered people the chance to sign up to read and review a book that has been a favorite of mine that they have never read. I got a great response and I’m happy to tell you (minus January) you will see a New to You post twice a month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next up for New to You is April from Between the Pages. I feel like I have been suggesting books to April for ages so it was great when she signed up and I had two more to choose from to have her read. It was a tough call but in the end I thought The Lies About Truth would be a good fit for her. Let’s see what she thought:

New to You (21): April  reviews The Lies About Truth by Courtney Stevens {giveaway}The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens
Published by HarperTeen
Published: June 6, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

This story from Courtney Stevens about hope and courage and the struggle to overcome the pain of loss.

Sadie Kingston is living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can't move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent's brother, Max.

As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she's unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him. But Max looks at her scars and doesn't shy away. And Max knows about the list she writes in the sand at the beach every night, the list of things that Sadie knows she must accomplish before she can move on from the accident. And while he can help her with number six (kiss someone without flinching), she knows she's on her own with number three (forgive Gina and Gray) and the rest of the seemingly impossible tasks that must be made possible before she can live in the now again.


So this was a book that I was interested in reading, but kept putting off. I’m not sure why I did, but I did. So when I saw Andi’s New To You feature come out, I was intrigued and decided to sign up, knowing whatever book Andi assigned to me was going to be worth reading. Andi has yet to lead me astray when I ask for book recommendations. So I read it, finally, and I’m glad I did.This is the story of Sadie, a teenage girls whose life changed due to a car accident that took the life of one of her friends, and changed the dynamic of the rest of her friendships. This story was very relatable, not because I’ve been through what the characters have, but because the friendships involved changed throughout the story. I feel like this is something that happens in real life as well. I also loved that Sadie had parents that were there for her, and wanted to be there.

Because of the Accident Sadie closes herself off from her friends, not wanting to be around them, then by a chance encounter we start seeing how they sort of become friends again in a different way, maybe not as close as before, but the friendship is there. The story evolves as the characters become different people, and truths are uncovered, truths that could change things in bad ways, but maybe allow the characters to grow in a good way.  By the end of the story each character, at least to me, seems different from the start of the book, but it was great to see them grow and change throughout the story.

I have to admit I struggled with the book while I was reading it, not because of the content of the story but because I was slightly disappointed that parts of the story were one-sided to me. I would have liked to have seen more of Max’s answers to Sadie, then just trying to guess what he wrote based on what she did.

All in all I was glad I finally read this book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks April for signing up for New to You. I happy you finally got to read this one. I need a reread. I devoured it when I read it and never got around to my review.

Giveaway is US only and ends on November 27, 2018 at 11:59pm EST.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Continue Reading

New to You (17): Amber Reviews Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Welcome to New to You!

This idea came along last year when I was supporting Lauren Miller’s newest book All Things New and I asked Kelsey to read and review Parallel, a book I have read more than once. I didn’t really get it going until December when I offered people the chance to sign up to read and review a book that has been a favorite of mine that they have never read. I got a great response and I’m happy to tell you (minus January) you will see a New to You post twice a month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next up for New to You is Amber from YA Indulgences. She will be reviewing a book that made me fall in love with dystopian stories when I was binging everything YA I could get my hands on. Let’s see what Amber thought about Delirium by Lauren Oliver:

New to You (17): Amber Reviews Delirium by Lauren OliverDelirium by Lauren Oliver
Series: Delirium #1
Published by HarperTeen
Published: August 2, 2011
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-stars

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe.I wonder whether the procedure will hurt.I want to get it over with.It’s hard to be patient.It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet.Still, I worry.They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness.The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

CW: Suicide mentions, animal death

My first Lauren Oliver book was Before I Fall, I’ve owned Delirium for years. I was happy when I was finally given a reason to read it with Andi’s feature.

The first and only dystopian novel I ever read was The Hunger Games and even then I didn’t read Mockingjay. Delirium has a really interesting premise with not wanting people to feel love. I thought this aspect while fascinating ended up being a bit meh.

Love is described as having negative effects and even causing death. Due to this, once teenagers are eighteen, they are given a cure to stop it. In addition to the cure, they take evaluations for proper marriage “choices”. They are given four choices based on their evaluations.

The cure essentially erases people’s pasts as well. They don’t retain many loving memories from their life before much therefore their lives are dulled. I couldn’t really get behind the whole “Let’s cure people of love”, it seemed too far out there as far as dystopian consequences. It would have made sense to somehow “cure” people from feeling at all rather than just love.

Another issue with Delirium was the insta-love. Somehow in only three meetings, Lena and Alex fall in love. Somehow Lena is so positive towards the cure and in two months is completely against it after her eyes are opened. There’s a situation in the book where Lena and Hana (her best friend) talk and I felt like their roles really should have been reversed. I could not get into their relationship at all. I thought some moments were sweet but other than that, not at all believable to me. I liked Lena well enough, I thought she was a decent protagonist. I hate how I liked her more after she got to know Alex. It didn’t seem like she could stand on her own feet.

Now, onto the things I enjoyed, the look at the darkness of this world through raids and prisoners. It seemed so real, especially with the world today with protests. I loved Hana a bunch. I’m excited to read the novella involving her. I liked Lena’s friendship with Hana. I did love Alex, even if he did seem like a bit of a manic pixie dream boy. I was surprised at the ending which unexpectedly broke me.

Overall, I would rate Delirium three stars. I will definitely read or listen to the follow-ups.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks Amber for signing up for New to You! Sorry it was not an instant love for you, but that’s books for you. Personally I’m a massive fan of the audios for this series and recommend everyone trying them out!

Have you read anything by Lauren Oliver?

Enter to win a Kindle copy of Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Giveaway is US ONLY. Ends 10/12/18 at 11:59pm EST.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

ARC August, The Round-Up

Today is the last day for ARC August and I’m really proud of my accomplishments. On a personal level my August didn’t go as planned and I didn’t have as much reading time as I thought I would. Life unfortunately got really hard in the middle of the month and reading time was a struggle. But when all is said and done I read 7 full books (8 if you count the book that is out next year that I read to help an author out that but isn’t on Goodreads) and am in the middle of Six of Crows. Not too bad if you ask me.

Here are my mini reviews for all 7 completed books:

ARC August, The Round-UpThese Things I've Done by Rebecca Phillips
Published by HarperTeen
Published: August 1, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
five-stars

Before: Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. Dara is the fearless one, Aubrey the prodigy, yet despite their differences they support each other unconditionally. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

After: It’s been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn’t racked with guilt over her role in her best friend’s death. Now, after spending a year away from home in order to escape the constant reminders of what happened, Dara is back at her old high school to start her senior year. Dara thought the worst thing about coming home would be confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it’s not half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey’s brother, every day. Not just because he’s a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she’s betraying her best friend one final time.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t think I have the words to talk about how much I loved this book. I’m actually really mad at myself for waiting so long. I downloaded this book over 550 days ago and am ashamed of myself for taking so long. The writing was fantastic, the story was amazing, and the characters were perfect. It was the perfect storm for me. Everything that I love in a book was there. My heart broke for Dara and all the blame she put on herself for an accident. It was heartbreaking to read, but it was also beautiful to see her build herself back up and be the Dara she was before tragedy struck her. And let’s not forget how adorable Ethan was! Definitely a book everyone needs to check out. I highly recommend it!

ARC August, The Round-UpFar from the Tree by Robin Benway
Published by HarperTeen
Published: October 3, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

A contemporary novel about three adopted siblings who find each other at just the right moment.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including—

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she’s quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family’s long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can’t help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he’s learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can’t hurt anyone but him.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

After reading Robin Benway’s book Emmy & Oliver I was so excited for her next book. Why I waited over a year to read it I have no idea. It was everything I expected from Robin. It was touching and moving and broke my heart (you will notice a theme in some of the ARC August books I read). How these three siblings were separated by something beyond their control and managed to find one another was just beautiful. They each lived very different lives, raised very differently, yet they managed to find a way to connect and support one another. I loved seeing how they supported one another even when they were dealing with stuff themselves. Honestly my only complaint was that the book wasn’t written in 1st person for each of the three main characters. But besides that another book I would definitely recommend. Be prepared to cry.

ARC August, The Round-UpWhen It's Right by Victoria Denault
Published by Forever Yours
Published: August 14, 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

IT'S ALL A MATTER OF TIMINGGriffin Sullivan is handling the ultimate balancing act. Between being a single dad to an active six-year-old and the crazy demands of his job as a hockey coach, finding love is not in the cards. But when the team's goalie is rushed to the ER, he's immediately captivated by the gorgeous, sassy nurse on duty... who just happens to be the sister of one his players.

Sadie Braddock has always had a big, open heart and a bit of a wild side. But since her dad got sick, she's closed herself off to life and love. Relationships are way too complicated - and so is Griffin. He's also funny and tender and sexy as hell. How can something that feels so right come at the worst time ever? Then again, someone to lean on may be exactly what they each need - if they're only brave enough to take the risk.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The Braddock family is by far one of my favorite families in fiction. I fell in love with them when I read Slammed and that love has only grown stronger after reading When It’s Right. What I love about this family is how funny and supportive they are of one another. They are going through a really hard time yet they still manage to find something to laugh about or celebrate. And watching Griffin and Sadie fall for each other was definitely something to celebrate, especially since Sadie takes on so much of the burden for her family. I laughed and even cried reading this fun hockey themed romance. This is a series I would say you need to pick up. I still need to read book 1, but 2 and 3 ae fantastic!

ARC August, The Round-UpGirl Out of Water by Laura Silverman
Published by Sourcebooks Fire
Published: May 2, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-stars

Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word.

Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I don’t know if it was because of things going on in my personal life when I read this or if it was a mood I was in, or what, but although I enjoyed Girl Out of Water, something felt like it was missing. I loved the characters, especially the twins, but something just didn’t click with me. Don’t get me wrong, the book was enjoyable and a quick read. I didn’t struggle to pick it up, I actually wanted to read more. It just felt like something wasn’t there which disappointed me because I was really looking forward to this one. Lincoln was by far the best of all the awesome characters. He was just a good, solid, stand-up guy and exactly what Anise needed when she was kind of lost. All in all I enjoyed this one. Not a favorite, but still a really well done book. You should check it out.

ARC August, The Round-UpGoodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
Published by Crown Books for Young Readers
Published: March 7, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

What if you could spend one last day with someone you lost?

One day Carver Briggs had it all—three best friends, a supportive family, and a reputation as a talented writer at his high school, Nashville Academy for the Arts.

The next day he lost it all when he sent a simple text to his friend Mars, right before Mars, Eli, and Blake were killed in a car crash.

Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident, and he’s not the only one. Eli’s twin sister is trying to freeze him out of school with her death-ray stare. And Mars’s father, a powerful judge, is pressuring the district attorney to open a criminal investigation into Carver’s actions.

Luckily, Carver has some unexpected allies: Eli’s girlfriend, the only person to stand by him at school; Dr. Mendez, his new therapist; and Blake’s grandmother, who asks Carver to spend a Goodbye Day with her to share their memories and say a proper goodbye to his friend.

Soon the other families are asking for a Goodbye Day with Carver, but he’s unsure of their motives. Will they all be able to make peace with their losses, or will these Goodbye Days bring Carver one step closer to a complete breakdown or—even worse—prison?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was my first time reading a Jeff Zentner book and it won’t be my last. Goodbye Days was a super powerful book. It was an emotional journey of guilt and grief and loss and how to move on with life after a tragedy. Carver broke my heart for about 99% of the book. He was just wracked with so much guilt and couldn’t see a way about of it. On top of that he had no friends anymore and was under a constant microscope at school or home. He was slowly drowning and it was heartbreaking. But it was also uplifting to see him slowly dig himself out of the dark hole he had made for himself. It really was an excellent story and one I’m so happy to have read.

ARC August, The Round-UpThe Leading Edge of Now by Marci Lyn Curtis
Published by Kids Can Press
Published: September 4, 2018
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

Just when Grace is beginning to get used to being an orphan, her estranged uncle suddenly comes forward to claim her. That might have been okay if he'd spoken to her even once since her father died. Or if moving in with Uncle Rusty didn't mean returning to New Harbor.

Grace once spent the best summers of her life in New Harbor. Now the place just reminds her of all she's lost: her best friend, her boyfriend and any memory of the night that changed her forever.

People say the truth will set you free, but Grace isn't sure about that. Once she starts looking for it, the truth about that night is hard to find --- and what happens when her healing hurts the people she cares about the most?

When a friend asked if I wanted to take part in a book tour for this book I said sure. It sounded like a good book and I had been meaning to read the author. I really had no idea how the book would be, but I can happily report it was really fantastic. It had everything I love in a good realistic contemporary book. My heart really felt for Grace and everything that she had been through over a two year period. How alone and confused she must have felt and how her world unraveled  shortly after the worst night of her life. It was hard to see her go through all the things she went through and finding out things she thought were true for so long might not have been. But I loved everything about Grace and how strong she was. My only complaint was I thought there were too many smaller stories building on the outskirt that weren’t important and were a little distracting. But besides that, this book was truly amazing and a must read for any YA contemporary lover.

ARC August, The Round-UpWait for Me by Caroline Leech
Published by HarperTeen
Published: January 31, 2017
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-stars

The perfect blend of sweet romance and historical flavor, Wait for Me, from debut author Caroline Leech, brings a fresh new voice to a much-loved genre.

It’s 1945, and Lorna Anderson’s life on her father’s farm in Scotland consists of endless chores and rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves, and praying for an Allied victory. So when Paul Vogel, a German prisoner of war, is assigned as the new farmhand, Lorna is appalled. How can she possibly work alongside the enemy when her own brothers are risking their lives for their country?

But as Lorna reluctantly spends time with Paul, she feels herself changing. The more she learns about him—from his time in the war to his life back home in Germany—the more she sees the boy behind the soldier. Soon Lorna is battling her own warring heart. Loving Paul could mean losing her family and the life she’s always known. With tensions rising all around them, Lorna must decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice before the end of the war determines their fate.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I think my hopes were too high for this one. After waiting about 2 years to read it I think I expected something it wasn’t and I ended up disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, it was good enough, but I was bored a lot of the time reading it but that could be on me. I think I was excited thinking I would get Summer of my German Solider (which I LOVED when I read it many, many years ago) but I didn’t feel the same love in Wait for Me. It did have its good moments for sure. There were parts I didn’t want to end because they were great, but there were just too many slow moments for my liking. All in all it wasn’t a terrible book, but not one I would reach for again. I do think you should check it out for yourself. Maybe if your expectations aren’t so high it will be a hit for you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So far Six of Crows is great! I know I won’t finish it today, but just wanted to mention that I’m loving it. I also did pretty okay on my Bingo card and got two bingos. (I counted Six of Crows as the start of a series and I considered I made my goal because I think I did well for the month I had:

How did you do in ARC August? Huge shout out to Read. Sleep. Repeat for hosting!

Continue Reading

New to You (6): Alexa Reviews Free to Fall by Lauren Miller {+ a giveaway}

Welcome to New to You!

This idea came along last year when I was supporting Lauren Miller’s newest book All Things New and I asked Kelsey to read and review Parallel, a book I have read more than once. I didn’t really get it going until December when I offered people the chance to sign up to read and review a book that has been a favorite of mine that they have never read. I got a great response and I’m happy to tell you (minus January) you will see a New to You post twice a month.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next up for New to You is Alexa from Alexa Loves Books. I was really excited when Alexa stated she would really love to read Free to Fall. As a massive Lauren Miller fangirl, I find this book is totally underrated and I want more people to read it so to its relevance with technology (think Siri and Alexa, the Amazon one, not the real person). Come check out what Alexa had to say about one of my favorites! (Make sure you check out the giveaway at the end!)

New to You (6): Alexa Reviews Free to Fall by Lauren Miller {+ a giveaway}Free to Fall by Lauren Miller
Published by HarperTeen
Published: May 12th 2015
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

From the author of Parallel comes a high-stakes romantic puzzler set in a near-future where everyone's life is seamlessly orchestrated by personal electronic devices. Imaginative and thrilling, this fast-paced story with two starred reviews is not to be missed.

Fast-forward to a time when Apple and Google have been replaced by Gnosis, a monolith corporation that has developed the most life-changing technology to ever hit the market: Lux, an app that flawlessly optimizes decision-making for the best personal results. Just like everyone else, sixteen-year-old Rory Vaughn knows the key to a happy, healthy life is to follow what Lux recommends. When she's accepted to the elite boarding school Theden Academy, her future happiness seems all the more assured. But once on campus, something feels wrong beneath the polished surface of her prestigious dream school. Then she meets North, a handsome townie who doesn't use Lux, and begins to fall for him and his outsider way of life. Soon, Rory is going against Lux's recommendations, listening instead to the inner voice that everyone has been taught to ignore—a choice that leads her to uncover a truth neither she nor the world ever saw coming.

I’ll be completely honest and tell you all that I totally forgot what Free to Fall was about when I first started reading it. But I think that worked out in this story’s favor since I had no set expectations going into it (except the knowledge that it was one of Andi’s favorite reads)! It turns out that this one is a science fiction mystery set at a boarding school that is also a thoughtful commentary on technology and power… and it totally ended up being a story that worked for me overall. Aurora ‘Ror’ Vaughn is a girl who lives her life by Lux, an app that is set to make all the most beneficial and right decisions for its user. She winds up being accepted to Theden, an exclusive boarding school that promises only the best opportunities for its students after graduation from its prestigious program. But all is not as it seems, and Aurora soon discovers challenges – in the form of the education and staff, her peers, a townie boy who doesn’t use Lux, secrets that she uncovers and the inner voice in her mind that she’s always been encouraged to ignore.

I know, I know, this sounds like an awful lot to fit into a plot, but Miller does it well enough. She sets the mystery up beautifully, has a knack for pacing (except the first few chapters) and does well with grounding her story in the setting. I couldn’t stop reading this novel once I’d hit a certain point, and I’m fairly certain a lot of that has to do with how Miller wrote this story. Now, I really only had one reservation, and it’s more personal taste than anything else — I couldn’t find a way to personally connect with the characters, even though I liked them overall. That’s really the only reason I couldn’t rate it higher! However, Free to Fall was still entertaining and quick to read. If you’re looking for a plot-driven story that’s really fun to read, well, I’d definitely encourage you to check this one out.

Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on March 25, 2018. It is US ONLY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thanks Alexa for signing up for New to You! I’m so happy you enjoyed Free to Fall. It’s been a long time since I read it. May be time for a reread!

My Free to Fall review

Have you read Free to Fall yet?

Continue Reading
1 2 3 8