On My Radar – June Releases (11)

Summer weather is slowly starting to show up all over the country. In Boston is has been 90+ the past couple of days (it will be back to normal this weekend). With summer around the corner it means summer months are going to be starting which means new releases.

Currently there are 15 books I am excited for in June. Some I have already read and others I’m excited to check out. With June a week and a half away I thought I would highlight a few of the books I’m really excited to either read or see out in the wild

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Here Lies Daniel Tate by Cristin Terrill
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A young, street-savvy runaway looking for a place to call home realized he might have conned his way into the wrong family in this fast-paced and thrilling novel from award-winning author Cristin Terrill.

When ten-year-old Daniel Tate went missing from one of California's most elite communities, he left no trace. He simply vanished.

Six years later, when he resurfaces on a snowy street in Vancouver, he's no longer the same boy. His sandy hair is darker, the freckles are gone, and he's initially too traumatized to speak, but he's alive. His overjoyed family brings him home to a world of luxury and comfort he can barely remember. In time, they assure him, he'll recover his memories; all that matters now is they're together again.

It's perfect. A miracle. Except for one thing.

He isn't Daniel Tate.

He's a petty con artist who accidentally stumbled into the scam of a lifetime, and he soon learns he's not the only one in the Tate household with something to hide. The family has as many secrets as they have millions in the bank, and one of them might be ready to kill to keep the worst one buried.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Once and for All by Sarah Dessen
Published by Viking Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine.

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber
Published by Thomas Nelson
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi's dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth's corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth's Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi's the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she's convinced he's been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel--Earth's charming young playboy--the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight's bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he's a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios
Published by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
on June 13th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Grace wants out. Out of her house, where her stepfather wields fear like a weapon and her mother makes her scrub imaginary dirt off the floors. Out of her California town, too small to contain her big city dreams. Out of her life, and into the role of Parisian artist, New York director—anything but scared and alone.

Enter Gavin: charming, talented, adored. Controlling. Dangerous. When Grace and Gavin fall in love, Grace is sure it's too good to be true. She has no idea their relationship will become a prison she's unable to escape.
Deeply affecting and unflinchingly honest, this is a story about spiraling into darkness—and emerging into the light again.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers
on June 6th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – June Releases (11)Salvaged by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver #3
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
on June 20th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Hudson Wheeler is a nice guy. Everyone knows it, including his fiancée who left him with a canceled wedding and a baby on the way. He’s tired of finishing last and is ready to start living in the moment with nights soaked in whiskey, fast cars, and even faster girls. He’s set to start living on the edge, but when he meets Poppy Cruz, her sad eyes in the most gorgeous face he’s ever seen hook him in right away. Wheeler can see Poppy’s pain and all he wants to do is take care of her and make her smile, whatever it takes.

Poppy can’t remember a time when she didn’t see strangers as the enemy. After a lifetime of being hurt from the men who swore to protect her, Poppy’s determined to keep herself safe by keeping everyone else at arm’s length. Wheeler’s sexy grin and rough hands from hours restoring classic cars shouldn’t captivate her, but every time she’s with him, she can’t help being pulled closer to him. Though she’s terrified to trust again, Poppy soon realizes it might hurt even more to shut Wheeler out—and the intense feelings pulsing through her are making it near impossible to resist him.

The only thing Poppy is sure of is that her heart is in need of some serious repair, and the more time she spends with Wheeler, the more she’s convinced he’s the only man with the tools to fix it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And I just realized most of these come out on June 6th. OOPS. Hope you are ready to get your read on.

If you are looking for other books on my radar you can check out my June shelf on Goodreads HERE.

What’s on your radar in June?

Continue Reading

Mini Reviews #4

Mini Reviews #4Wrecked by Maria Padian
Published by Algonquin Young Readers
on October 4th 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon, Goodreads

Everyone on campus has a different version of what happened that night.

Haley saw Jenny return from the party, shell-shocked.

Richard heard Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with.

When Jenny accuses Jordan of rape, Haley and Richard are pushed to opposite sides of the school’s investigation. Now conflicting versions of the story may make bringing the truth to light nearly impossible--especially when reputations, relationships, and whole futures are riding on the verdict.

Wrecked offers a kaleidoscopic account of a sexual assault on a college campus. It will leave you thinking about how memory, identity, and who sits in judgment shape what we all decide to believe about the truth.

Wrecked was a weird reading experience for me. To be honest I hated the characters. There truthfully wasn’t one character that I actually liked. I don’t think I was supposed to like any of them so that was a bit of a struggle. But I loved the story and how true it felt. And it is a story that a lot of people need to read because like it or not these things happen more and more in college and I think we need to pay more attention to that as a society.

I guess the first thing I can say about Wrecked was I didn’t envy Haley’s position. It’s hard to put into words really. I 100% felt for Jenny, even if I didn’t like her all the time, I can’t imagine what she was going through and how hard it was for her. I also felt bad for Haley. What she was asked to do for Jenny would have been hard if it had been your best friend for years and years and years. But Haley and Jenny had only known each other a few months and here she was with this responsibility. It honestly made me think what I would have done in that position. It was a terrible place for both characters when it comes down to it and I didn’t want to be either one of them.

I guess when it comes down to it Wrecked is just an important book. It’s a book that realistically looks at a he said/she said argument in terms of sexual assault. It’s a book that shows you how sides are drawn and how people are put in the middle. A book that shows you how the victim is made into a criminal. Like the characters or not, it’s a book that should be read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini Reviews #4For This Life Only by Stacey Kade
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon, Goodreads

A young man struggles to move forward after the death of his twin brother in this gripping, coming-of-age tale about loss, redemption, love, and the moment you begin to see the world differently.

Three minutes.

Jacob Palmer died for three life-changing minutes.

And when he woke up, nothing was the same. Elijah, his twin brother, is dead, and his family is broken. Jace’s planned future is crushed, along with his pitching arm. Everyone keeps telling him that Eli’s in a better place, but Jace isn’t so sure. Because in those three minutes, there was nothing.

Overwhelmed by guilt and doubt, Jace struggles to adjust to this new version of the world, one without his brother, one without the certainties he once relied on. And then Thera comes into his life.

She’s the last girl he should be turning to for help.

But she’s also the first person to truly see him.

Having just read Stacey Kade’s book, 738 Days, not that long ago, I was excited with the prospect of reading another by her. The concept of For This Life Only sounded great. It totally seemed to be a book that was my kind of book. Sadly when I finished it I didn’t have the same feelings I felt when I read 738 Days. To be truthful I was really conflicted (still am) on how I felt about it.

I guess in all honesty it kind of threw me a little as I was reading. I didn’t expect For This Life Only to have such a strong religious theme to it and it did. Don’t get me wrong, I will happily read books that are religious themed (Pure by Terra Elan McVoy and Small Town Sinners by Melissa Walker are two of my favorites) but I want to know it is going to be religious when I go in. I had no idea this book was going to be and it threw me a little.

I really liked the idea behind the book, still do, but in the end I felt like a lot wasn’t answered and the religious aspect was huge but really didn’t even add to the story. I guess I don’t know what felt off for me, but something did and when all is said and done I was sad. If you do decide to read For This Life Only know there are religious parts. Maybe knowing that going in will make a difference. I wish I did.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mini Reviews #4Game On by Michelle Smith
Series: Lewis Creek #1
Published by Bloomsbury Spark
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon, Goodreads

As king of baseball in the small town of Lewis Creek, Eric Perry can have any girl he wants and win every game he plays. But when a fight lands him in jail, he’s only got one more strike before his baseball career is over for good. His only chance for redemption? The girl next door, Bri Johnson.

Bri hasn’t talked to Eric in months—for starters, she’s been too busy dealing with her jerk of an ex-boyfriend, not to mention the fact that Eric’s been preoccupied trying to drink every keg in the country dry. But when he needs a way to stay on the team, she proposes a plan: if he helps her out with community service, he can stay on the team. At first it’s a nightmare—Eric and Bri stopped being friends years ago, surely that was for a good reason, right? But as volunteering turns to bonding over old memories of first kisses under the stars, they start to have trouble remembering what pushed them apart.

In a town as small as Lewis Creek, nothing stays secret for long and their friendship and romance might mean bad news. But in this final, tumultuous spring before graduation, Eric and Bri are about to realize that nobody’s perfect alone, but they might just be perfect together.

Game On is definitely my favorite of the two books in the Lewis Creek stories. Eric and Bri’s story was the perfect “girl next door” type of story. Seriously I just loved both of these characters so much. And they played off each other perfectly. They had a natural chemistry and you just couldn’t help falling for them. They were both in a place where they needed to grow and change and I think finding their lost friendship was a way for them to do that.

I guess what I liked the most was how Michelle Smith told the story of Eric and Bri. They didn’t go from not being friends to being friends in the blink of an eye. It was a process and it slowly happened, naturally happened. And when it did they remembered all the things that had made them besties in the first place and built off of that. That was what I enjoyed the most and what made Game On a book I would recommend.

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: For This Life Only by Stacey Kade – Top Ten TV Characters (+a Giveaway)

forthis

Welcome top my stop on Stacey Kade’s blog tour for For This Life Only. Stacey was kind enough to do a Top 10 post and is doing it on her Top Ten Favorite TV Characters. Without further ado:

Oh my. *rubs hands together in glee* This is going to be fun! Or extremely difficult given how much TV I watch!  😀

Disclaimer: These aren’t in top ten order. They’re just my ten favorites.

forthis1Ryan Atwood (The O.C.)
I have watched the pilot of this show so many times. And the scene where Sandy helps Ryan with his tie makes me emotional every single time. Ryan is just that perfect good heart/bad boy combination that is completely irresistible.  And I don’t care what anyone says: Season 4 rocks.

Peter Bishop (Fringe)
Smart, handsome and a bit of a con artist. But the way he takes care of his father, Walter, who is less than stable and very contrary, makes me love him even more.

Starbuck (Battlestar Galactica)
Katee Sackoff. I adore her. But I knew I loved this character from the first time she explained why she was in the brig *this time*: “For striking a superior asshole.” *insert emoji with cartoon-heart-eyes here*

Dana Scully (The X-Files)
Smart. Scientist. Redhead. Walking contradiction with her faith in religion and her doubt of the paranormal. Badass who did not need to wear midriff-bearing shirts or leather pants to convince us of her badassery.

forthis2Olivia Dunham (Fringe)
We wouldn’t have Olivia without Dana Scully, and like her predecessor, Olivia is smart, dedicated and not someone you want to cross. She, however, I think, was allowed to show more vulnerability at times than Scully. And I think that’s a sign of progress. “Strong” doesn’t always mean strong in one particular way (aka usually the “male” version of strength).

Bellamy Blake/Clarke Griffin (The 100)
Okay, this is a bit of a cheat. Honestly, I love this show, but these characters individually can drive me crazy. However, seeing them work together is nothing but sheer delight.

forthis3Dean Winchester (Supernatural)
I confess: originally, I preferred Sam. All that angsty-goodness. But now, on rewatching, it’s Dean all the way. That smirk. The humor he uses to hide his deepest hurts and fears. Yeah. Plus? The single perfect tear.

Jessica Jones (Jessica Jones)
Is this one really a surprise? Probably not. I adore flawed female characters. Particularly angry ones who have good reason to be angry and aren’t afraid to show it, never fearing that they’ll be liked less. Even if they are.

Veronica Mars (Veronica Mars)
I want to grow up to be Veronica. That is all.

forthis4The cast of FRIENDS
Okay, now I’m REALLY cheating. But if they can negotiate together, I can list them together. 🙂 And collectively, they are a favorite; I couldn’t choose just one. FRIENDS is my go-to show on a bad day, when I’m sick or just feeling blah. If I were still in college, I would write a paper about how The One where Monica and Richard are Just Friends is the best episode of the series and possibly a perfect sitcom episode in general.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog Tour: For This Life Only by Stacey Kade – Top Ten TV Characters (+a Giveaway)For This Life Only by Stacey Kade
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
on August 30th 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon, Goodreads

A young man struggles to move forward after the death of his twin brother in this gripping, coming-of-age tale about loss, redemption, love, and the moment you begin to see the world differently.

Three minutes.

JA young man struggles to move forward after the death of his twin brother in this gripping, coming-of-age tale about loss, redemption, love, and the moment you begin to see the world differently.

Three minutes.

Jacob Palmer died for three life-changing minutes.

And when he woke up, nothing was the same. Elijah, his twin brother, is dead, and his family is broken. Jace’s planned future is crushed, along with his pitching arm. Everyone keeps telling him that Eli’s in a better place, but Jace isn’t so sure. Because in those three minutes, there was nothing.

Overwhelmed by guilt and doubt, Jace struggles to adjust to this new version of the world, one without his brother, one without the certainties he once relied on. And then Thera comes into his life.

She’s the last girl he should be turning to for help.

But she’s also the first person to truly see him.

LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Stacey Kade

As an award-winning corporate copywriter, Stacey Kade has written about everything from backhoe loaders to breast pumps. But she prefers to make things up instead.

She lives in the Chicago suburbs with her husband, Greg, and two retired racing greyhounds, SheWearsThePants (Pansy) and Shutter. When she’s not reading or writing, you’ll likely find her parked in front of the television catching up on her favorite shows (Scandal, The Vampire Diaries, Almost Human, The Walking Dead, and Sherlock, among others.)

Stacey is the author of the The Ghost and the Goth trilogy (THE GHOST AND THE GOTH, QUEEN OF THE DEAD, and BODY & SOUL) and The Project Paper Doll Series (THE RULES and THE HUNT). You can find her (far too often) on Facebook and Twitter as well as http://www.staceykade.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tour Schedule

Week 1:
8/22: I Turn the Pages – Mood Board
8/23: Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Review
8/24: What Sarah Read – Q&A
8/25: Oops! I Read A Book Again – Review
8/26: Andi’s ABCs – Top 10

Week 2:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 Finished Copies of FOR THIS LIFE ONLY (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Save

Save

Continue Reading

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)

As book bloggers and readers we have a ton of books. At any given time I have about 100 books I want to read at once which we all know isn’t possible. But with those 100 books I usually have a few in mind that I want to read (unless I’m in a mood reading phase). Currently I have 6 books that I have my eye on to read next, and one that I am desperate to show up on Edelweiss so I can download it and the read the crap out of it.

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
Published by Delacorte Press
on April 5th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)Wait for Me by Caroline Leech
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

Set on a Scottish farm in the spring of 1945, Wait for Me begins as Paul, a severely burned German prisoner-of-war, is sent to the farm to work. Lorna, the farmer’s teenage daughter, soon discovers that in wartime, your family and your allies might not actually be your friends, and your enemy might turn out to be the love of your life. Lorna’s friendship with Paul, and their developing love for each other, is challenged by Lorna’s own prejudices and by the intolerance of her soldier brother and her friends in the village. Ultimately, the events which bring peace to Europe will tear Lorna and Paul apart. What will Lorna have to give up in order to find Paul again?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)Caraval (Untitled, #1) by Stephanie Garber
Published by Flatiron Books
Amazon, Goodreads

Before you enter the world of Caraval, you must remember that it’s all a game . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

Then, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation to Caraval finally arrives. So, Tella enlists a mysterious sailor’s help to whisk Scarlett away to this year’s show. But as soon as the trio arrives, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with her sister, with Legend, and with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published by Harlequin Teen
Amazon, Goodreads

For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)For This Life Only by Stacey Kade
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Amazon, Goodreads

A young man struggles to move forward after the death of his twin brother in this gripping, coming-of-age tale about loss, redemption, love, and the moment you begin to see the world differently.

Three minutes.

Jacob Palmer died for three life-changing minutes.

And when he woke up, nothing was the same. Elijah, his twin brother, is dead, and his family is broken. Jace’s planned future is crushed, along with his pitching arm. Everyone keeps telling him that Eli’s in a better place, but Jace isn’t so sure. Because in those three minutes, there was nothing.

Overwhelmed by guilt and doubt, Jace struggles to adjust to this new version of the world, one without his brother, one without the certainties he once relied on. And then Thera comes into his life.
She’s the last girl he should be turning to for help.

But she’s also the first person to truly see him.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)Wrecked by Maria Padian
Published by Algonquin Young Readers
Amazon, Goodreads

Everyone has heard a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shell-shocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with. When Jenny formally accuses Jordan of rape, Haley and Richard find themselves pushed onto opposite sides of the school’s investigation. But conflicting interests fueling conflicting versions of the story may make bringing the truth to light nearly impossible--especially when reputations, relationships, and whole futures are riding on the verdict.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is the book I am desperate to show up on Edelweiss. I’m about half way through the first and I need more!

On my Radar: Top TBR Books (and a dream book)Corruption (Disruption, #2) by Jessica Shirvington
Published by HarperCollins
Amazon, Goodreads

The thrilling finale to bestselling author Jessica Shirvington's Disruption series.

How do you live with yourself when you've deceived the one you love?
How do you move on when the person you've been fighting to save betrays you?
Two years ago, Maggie Stevens began the hunt.
Four weeks ago, Maggie's world fell apart, when she finally found what she'd been looking for. And when Quentin, who had blindly trusted her, unravelled her web of lies.
Now, Maggie lives in the dark. But she's not about to stay there. Not when she still has to bring M-Corp down. Not when there is still a chance she could win him back.
In the exhilarating conclusion to Disruption, Maggie must do whatever it takes to show the world the truth. And the price for her quest?
Everything.
But for who?

What are the books on your radar?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: The ABCs with Graham and Roxana from The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love (Sarvenaz Tash) + a giveaway

geekguide1

Today we have a special edition of The ABCs brought to you by Sarvenza Tash for her characters Graham and Roxana in her new book The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love. Make sure you read all the way to the end to enter the giveaway.

graham

Graham:

Accessory: Moleskine Star Wars notebook
Graham is a writer and a bit of a paper nerd, so I think he would appreciate the quality and feel of the Moleskine notebooks. Plus the fact that this one has the famous opening title text from the original movie is a tribute to his dad—a huge Star Wars fan and the OG (Original Geek).

Book: Ready Player One
The ultimate nerdy action/adventure story. Both Graham and I adore this page-turning traipse through tons of gaming and pop culture references (especially with our predilection for ’80s pop culture).

Clothing: Yellow Leather Jacket
Graham wears something like this when cosplaying as Charlie Noth, one of the lead characters in his favorite comic series, The Chronicles of Althena.

rox

Roxana:

Accessory: Sherlock Infinity Scarf
Look at this thing! It’s designed to look like the wallpaper from Sherlock. What a fabulously subtle way to declare your allegiance to those in the know. (Both Roxy and I are big BBC fans…)

Book: Illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Graham and Roxana bonded first of all over their love of the Harry Potter series. As an artist, and an HP fan, I think Roxy would very much admire Jim Kay’s depiction of Hogwarts (I know I certainly do).

Clothing: Pac-Man Dress
I love this whimsical dress and I can absolutely see Roxy rocking it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog Tour: The ABCs with Graham and Roxana from The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love (Sarvenaz Tash) + a giveawayThe Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
on June 14th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

John Hughes meets Comic Con in this hilarious, unabashedly romantic, coming-of-age novel about a teenager who is trying to get his best friend to fall in love with him from the author of Three Day Summer.

Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy...
Archie and Veronica...
Althena and Noth......
Graham and Roxy?

Graham met his best friend, Roxana, when he moved into her neighborhood eight years ago, and she asked him which Hogwarts house he’d be sorted into. Graham has been in love with her ever since.

But now they’re sixteen, still neighbors, still best friends. And Graham and Roxy share more than ever—moving on from their Harry Potter obsession to a serious love of comic books.

When Graham learns that the creator of their favorite comic, The Chronicles of Althena, is making a rare appearance at this year’s New York Comic Con, he knows he must score tickets. And the event inspires Graham to come up with the perfect plan to tell Roxy how he really feels about her. He’s got three days to woo his best friend at the coolest, kookiest con full of superheroes and supervillains. But no one at a comic book convention is who they appear to be...even Roxy. And Graham is starting to realize fictional love stories are way less complicated than real-life ones.

About Sarvenaz Tash

Sarvenaz Tash was born in Tehran, Iran and grew up on Long Island, NY. She received her BFA in Film and Television from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts. This means she got to spend most of college running around and making movies (it was a lot of fun). She has dabbled in all sorts of writing including screenwriting, copywriting, and professional tweeting. Sarvenaz currently lives in Brooklyn, NY.

 

Blog Tour Info:

Mon. 6/6        Beauty and the Bookshelf
Tues. 6/7       Prose and Kahn
Wed. 6/8        Read. Breathe. Relax
Thurs. 6/9     The Hiding Spot
Fri. 6/10         The Reading Nook
Mon. 6/13      Adventures of a Book Junkie
Tues. 6/14     Green Bean Teen Queen
Wed. 6/15      Word Spelunking
Thurs. 6/16    Andi’s ABCs
Fri. 6/17          What a Nerd Girl Says


Info: A signed copy of The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love and a signed copy of Three Day Summer to one U.S. winner.  (Will come from the author!) Ends Wednesday June 22, 2016 at 11:59PM EST. US ONLY!

Save

Save

Save

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Save

Continue Reading