Blog Tour: Two Summers by Aimee Friedman (Deleted Scene + Giveaway)

twosummers

Today on the blog we have Aimee Friedman, author of Two Summers. Aimee is sharing with us a scene that was deleted from an earlier draft and it is pretty awesome! Go forth and enjoy.

This scene was actually in an earlier draft of the book, when I had a slightly different plotline for Summer: she was working at the local bookstore alongside her crush, Hugh. This scene takes place before an author reading at the store; Summer and Hugh are busy getting ready and have A Moment.

 

I stop for a moment, breathing in the musty scents of paper and leather binding. Then I hustle past the tables stacked high with fat paperbacks and shiny hardcovers. I head into the dusty back storeroom, determined to prove that I can be useful. I pick my way past cardboard boxes, careful not to dirty my white sundress. I am kneeling to open the mini-fridge when someone else walks in.

Hugh.

The tiny room suddenly feels even smaller, and heat fills my face. As Hugh maneuvers around me, his elbow brushes the back of my neck.

“I don’t mean to be in your way,” he says. “I’m just getting another table.”

“No problem,” I mumble. You’re just giving me heart palpitations. Carry on.

I turn slightly to study him. He’s dressed well for the reading, in a button-down light-blue shirt and dark slacks. His sleeves are rolled up, and I take in his nicely toned forearms as he easily lifts a folding table from the corner.

Before he can catch me staring, I whip back around. The fridge’s cold air is like a balm on my flushed cheeks. I yank out the plastic-wrapped plate of cheese cubes and stand up so fast I stagger backwards, crashing directly into Hugh.

Of course.

“You OK?” Hugh says, putting a hand on his shoulder to steady me. I glance back at him, humiliated, and notice that his cheeks are kind of red.

He blushes, too, I think, surprised. He’s not a different species.

I know he’s only blushing because I’ve almost knocked him over, and not because our faces are so close that I can see the faint scar above his top lip. My heart is racing.

“Hugh? Summer? Where are you guys?”

Blog Tour: Two Summers by Aimee Friedman (Deleted Scene + Giveaway)Two Summers by Aimee Friedman
Published by Point
Published: April 26th 2016
Add to Goodreads

ONE SUMMER in the French countryside, among sun-kissed fields of lavender . . .

ANOTHER SUMMER in upstate New York, along familiar roads that lead to surprises . . .

When Summer Everett makes a split-second decision, her summer divides into two parallel worlds. In one, she travels to France, where she’s dreamed of going: a land of chocolate croissants, handsome boys, and art museums. In the other, she remains home, in her ordinary suburb, where she expects her ordinary life to continue — but nothing is as it seems.

In both summers, she will fall in love and discover new sides of herself. What may break her, though, is a terrible family secret, one she can't hide from anywhere. In the end, it may just be the truth she needs the most.

From New York Times bestselling author Aimee Friedman comes an irresistible, inventive novel that takes readers around the world and back again, and asks us what matters more: the journey or the destination.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Aimee Friedman

Aimee Friedman was born and raised in Queens, New York, in an apartment filled with books and different languages. She wrote her first story at the age of five, and was off and running from there. Aimee wrote all through her years as a student at the Bronx High School of Science and then Vassar College. After graduating from college in 2001, she became a children's book editor, a job she still does, and loves, to this day! Aimee published her first novel, the New York Times bestseller, South Beach, in 2005, and is now the author of several novels for young adults, the latest being Two Summers. Aimee lives in New York City, where she can usually be found writing in cafes, window-shopping, or searching for the perfect iced latte.

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/27/2016- Novel Novice– Guest Post
6/28/2016- Page Turners Blog– Review
6/29/2016- The Cover Contessa Interview
6/30/2016- Just Commonly– Review
7/1/2016- YA Book Nerd Interview

Week Two:
7/4/2016- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
7/5/2016- Andi’s ABCs– Guest Post
7/6/2016- A Dream Within A Dream– Review
7/7/2016- Curling Up With A Good Book– Guest Post
7/8/2016- Margie’s Must Reads– Review

Giveaway Details:
3 winners will receive a signed finished copy of TWO SUMMERS and TWO SUMMERS travel bags, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

Review: Two Summers – Aimee Friedman

Review: Two Summers – Aimee FriedmanTwo Summers by Aimee Friedman
Published by Point
Published: April 26th 2016
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-half-stars

ONE SUMMER in the French countryside, among sun-kissed fields of lavender . . .

ANOTHER SUMMER in upstate New York, along familiar roads that lead to surprises . . .

When Summer Everett makes a split-second decision, her summer divides into two parallel worlds. In one, she travels to France, where she’s dreamed of going: a land of chocolate croissants, handsome boys, and art museums. In the other, she remains home, in her ordinary suburb, where she expects her ordinary life to continue — but nothing is as it seems.

In both summers, she will fall in love and discover new sides of herself. What may break her, though, is a terrible family secret, one she can't hide from anywhere. In the end, it may just be the truth she needs the most.

From New York Times bestselling author Aimee Friedman comes an irresistible, inventive novel that takes readers around the world and back again, and asks us what matters more: the journey or the destination.

I’m a parallel life book fanatic. I mean they have to be some of my favorite topics in the YA genre. I love the possibility of seeing the what-ifs because even if we don’t admit it we all sometimes think ‘what-if I decided to ____ instead of ____’. It’s human nature to wonder so as a reader seeing these outcomes enthralls me. Which brings me to Two Summers, a book by Aimee Friedman that I happened to have fall into my lap by chance, and a book that added even more flame to my love of all things parallel life.

Two Summers is about Summer, a girl on her way to France to spend the summer with her father and leave her small town in New York behind her. When Summer is about to board the plane she receives a phone call that splits in life in two. In one world she stays in her home town and in the other she flys to France as planned. As Summer navigates her life in both settings she is faced with some realities she didn’t expect and a secret that is destined to be exposed no matter the what-ifs.

The thing about parallel life books is they can go epically bad if the author is not careful. One small thing that goes unnoticed can lead to confusion and the reader not able to follow what is happening. Aimee Friedman made sure that was not the case with Two Summers. There was something that she need that made both lives separate and on their own but she wove a thread through them that still made them connected in a subtle but important way. I never once felt like I was taken out of the story when the life changed and it all flowed really seamlessly which is huge when writing this kind of book. Bravo to Aimee for nailing it. Also I love the almost double meaning of the title. I found that a really clever play on words and meanings.

Well half the book takes place in France so um yeah, total winner right there in terms of backdrop. You can’t really miss when you have France as a guest star. Between the food (I’m looking at you Aimee for my new found love again of Pain au Chocolat), museums, artistry and descriptions I was completely in love with this setting. And I admit, I kind of loved Summer’s hometown too. It was one of those small quaint places where Summer had lived her whole life but one summer changed everything for her. Instead of living in the bubble she found herself in she found places she never knew existed and opened her eyes to the possibility of more. (Side note: the use of the camera in both lives was genius to get all of this across.)

Truthfully, this book didn’t get 5 stars because of Summer. I actually really liked her, but she read a little old for 16 and because of that I personally couldn’t give it all the stars. If it wasn’t mentioned that she was turning 16 I would have thought her to be 18. That aside, I did love the changes and growth of the character in both stories. She had a lot come to light in a short period of time but I really liked the way she handled things. I also really loved the romance aspect. It’s hard with a parallel because you can sometimes love boy boys. But for me I had a favorite from the beginning. What I didn’t like was Summer’s BFF Ruby. I got what she was saying. I understood her point, but I did not like how she did what she did. That to me was not cool. But all in all the characters in both France and New York really drove the story.

If you are a fan of Lauren Miller’s book Parallel, you will love Two Summers. That’s what I can compare it to and if you know me you know that is huge as I am a big fan of Lauren Miller. Two Summers was just really smartly done. I didn’t have any questions at the end. I didn’t question which timeline was the ‘real’ timeline. Honestly I didn’t want to know. And the epilogue, yes, the epilogue, tied every part of the story together in the best of ways. It was the perfecting ending for a parallel life book. Basically read it. You won’t be disappointed.

 

Continue Reading