Blog Tour Review: Swept Away – Michelle Dalton {Giveaway}

swept1

 Blog Tour Review: Swept Away – Michelle Dalton {Giveaway}Swept Away by Michelle Dalton
Published by Simon and Schuster
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
three-half-stars

Beachfront love blossoms in this refreshing summer romance, in the tradition of Sixteenth Summer and Seventeenth Summer.

Mandy Sullivan isn’t exactly looking forward to the summer months as tourists invade her seaside hometown on the coast of Maine. Her best friend, Cynthia, has abandoned her for camp and her older brother just announced he’ll be staying at college taking classes for the summer, leaving Mandy with nothing to do and no one to hang out with. Hoping to keep herself busy, Mandy takes a volunteer job at the Rocky Pointe Lighthouse. On her very first day, Oliver Farmingham asks for a private tour. A new—and incredibly cute—face in Rocky Pointe, Oliver seems more interested in Mandy than the lighthouse and its history.

Without her best friend at her side, Mandy is scrambling to act the right way and say the right things when Oliver is around. Cynthia—not Mandy—has always been the confident, flirtatious girl that everyone wanted to be around. As Mandy and Oliver spend more time together exploring the coast, biking through the woods, and attending the local summer festivals, their budding friendship becomes much more. But with Mandy’s insecurities creeping to the surface, can she open her heart to someone who will only be in town for three months?

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

thoughts1

The amazing thing about a Michelle Dalton book is the ability it has to put you right in a beach side town in summer. Since reading her first book, Sixteenth Summer, she has managed to transport me to warm summer days on a beach, Cape Cod for me, and made me remember what it was like in the summer when I was younger. She has done it with every book of hers so far and Swept Away wasn’t any different.

Swept Away is the story of Mandy, a girl living in a small town in Coastal Maine. Mandy is not looking forward to the summer in front of her. Her best friend will be away, her mom and forcing her to volunteer at the light house and her brother isn’t coming home from college. Mandy has resigned herself to this being the worst summer of her life. That is until Oliver, the new summer boy, shows up and has a huge interest in her. Now instead of being forced to spend time with her mother and at the light house Mandy is having the summer of her romantic dreams and learns a little something about herself in the process. But like all summer romances there is an end date and as it gets closer and closer Mandy and Oliver have to deal with the harsh light of their reality and see if love is worth it.

The thing I love most about Dalton’s writing is her consistency. All of her books have the same writing and feel to them but they are also different enough that you don’t feel like you are reading the same book. Swept Away fit in perfectly. There was the cute coastal town, the endless summer days and the quintessential summer romance. It is basically a perfect beach read as it keeps you interested but doesn’t bog you down with over the top drama.

I also really enjoy Michelle’s characters. Mandy and Oliver were a pretty great pair. Although Mandy did get on my nerves at times by not being herself out of fear that Oliver would leave her (tip: he isn’t worth it if he doesn’t like who you are), I guess I understood the insecurity more as the book progressed. She was a person that lived in her best friend’s shadow mostly so she wasn’t sure how to just be herself. But even with that blip I really liked Mandy. She was more determined than she knew and she was more open minded than she thought. It was actually nice to see her stand on her own without her best friend. And Oliver, oh Oliver was just geekily adorable. He was 100% nerd and I 100% loved him.

Swept Away was a very fast read that will kept you interested and smiling the whole way. It is the perfect summer beach read and it will make you wish you were there. I would recommend this for contemporary fans for sure as you are guaranteed to enjoys yourself with the feel of summer and first love.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
otherbooks

sixteenthfifteenthpulled

About Michelle Dalton

Michelle Dalton is one of the many names Carla Jablonski uses when writing. Her two YAs written as Carla Jablonski (published by Razorbill/Penguin), Thicker than Water and Silent Echoes, were included on the NYPL Books for the Teen Age list, and her graphic novel trilogy Resistance (illustrated by Leland Purvis, published by :01 Books) has won several awards, including the Sydney Taylor Silver Medal. In addition to writing novels she is an actor, playwright, and former trapeze artist. A native New Yorker, she is eternally grateful to her friends who invite her to their beach houses.

Follow the Swept Away by Michelle Dalton Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.

ffbc1

 

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ffbc

Continue Reading

Review: Fifteenth Summer – Michelle Dalton

Review: Fifteenth Summer – Michelle DaltonFifteenth Summer by Michelle Dalton
Published by Simon and Schuster
Published: May 7th 2013
Buy on Amazon
Add to Goodreads
four-stars

Chelsea isn’t looking forward to her summer at the lake. It’s the first time her family has been there since her grandmother died, and she can’t break out of her funk. But her summer takes a turn for the better when she meets a boy who works in the bookstore. Josh is cute, sweet, funny…and best of all, seems to like her as much as she likes him. As the days pass by in a blur of boat rides, picnics, and stolen kisses, she can’t believe how lucky she is. No one has ever made her feel so special, or so beautiful.

But Chelsea knows her days with Josh are numbered. She’ll be heading home at the end of the summer—and he’ll be staying behind. Will this be Chelsea’s summer of love? Or will it be the summer of her broken heart?

thoughts1

Ever find a book that is the perfect book at the perfect moment? It may not be the deepest and most serious of books, but it makes you feel good and smile and makes you remember why you love to read. Fifteenth Summer was that book for me. When I picked up Fifteenth Summer I had just read a book I didn’t like and a book that was just okay so I just need something and it happened at the perfect time. Being a fan of Dalton’s over book, Sixteenth Summer, I had high hopes  for this one anyway and like she did before Dalton delivered.

Fifteenth Summer is the story a Chelsea, a 15 year old girl heading to the house she spent her summers at when she was younger, the house her grandmother lived in. What seems normal is anything but because this summer will be Chelsea and her family’s first time at the house since her grandmother passed away earlier that year. Surrounded by memories Chelsea seeks refuge in a book store where she meets Josh, a cute boy that constantly gives her mix signals. But as those signals uncross Chelsea and Josh start on an epic journey of first love and possibly a broken heart for one or both of them.

Like I said I adored this book. It happened that I read it at the exact right time that I need some adorableness in my life and now without a shadow of doubt I know that Dalton can deliver.  The realistic quality mixed with the likable characters of Josh and Chelsea not to mention the use of grief and responsibility all clicked really well. Well you felt sad for Chelsea you were excited that she had this thing blooming with Josh. And while you didn’t understand why Josh was taking on so much responsibility you understood his need to make sure his family succeeded. Add to that the undeniable chemistry between Chelsea and Josh and the lake/beach setting and you have a winner.

Dalton has such an ease about her writing that it feels like coming home after a cold winter. Her words seem to wrap around you and just make you feel good. Whether it was happy scene or a scene filled with sadness I wanted to read more and feel the impact it would have on me. Chelsea and Josh brought a smile to my face and an ache to my heart but it was worth it all because this read was exactly what I needed at the exact right time.

otherbooks
sixteenth

reread2

 

Continue Reading