Jane, Unlimited: The Umbrella Card Set {+Giveaway}

Today is my stop on the blog tour for Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore. When I started  the book (truth: I am still reading it as it is a long one, but really enjoying it) I honestly had no idea what I was going to do for my blog post. I was thinking review but I knew a lot of people would be doing that plus if you have seen my other posts you know how terrible I have been at that lately. I wracked my brain for an idea and then as I read a huge theme in the book jumped out…umbrellas. Jane has a thing for umbrellas and suddenly I had an idea. I would make an umbrella card set.

First it started with the umbrella stamp above. I stamped it once as it is and let it sit overnight. Note: The stamped umbrella is actually plain with no design. When I was looking at it the next day I thought about how I could try and stamp a pattern of some sort in each umbrella. First I did it over the line which was fine, but a little bother some. I tried wiping the ink away and that worked but not perfectly. and then I hand an idea and I just used paper to block the lines and it was perfect!

Since Jane has so many different umbrellas in her life I decided to do 4 different patterns for the card set. I did a floral, a polka dot, a stripe and a coffee bean. When the ink on the panels were dry I colored each one accordingly and stamped a coordinating sentiment. Then I cut them small to put a mat of color behind them to fit the theme. I attached the panel to the mat, the mat to the card base. I added some sequins for sparkle and matched an envelope to each one and done. Jane, Unlimited Umbrella cards.


Jane, Unlimited: The Umbrella Card Set {+Giveaway}Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
on September 19th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~

About Kristin Cashore

Kristin Cashore grew up in the northeast Pennsylvania countryside as the second of four daughters. She received a bachelor's degree from Williams College and a master's from the Center for the Study of Children's Literature at Simmons College, and she has worked as a dog runner, a packer in a candy factory, an editorial assistant, a legal assistant, and a freelance writer. She has lived in many places (including Sydney, New York City, Boston, London, Austin, and Jacksonville, Florida), and she currently lives in the Boston area. Her epic fantasy novels set in the Graceling Realm--GracelingFire, and Bitterblue--have won many awards and much high praise, including picks as ALA Best Books for Young Adults, School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, Booklist Editors Choice, and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year. In addition, Graceling was shortlisted for the William C. Morris Debut Award and Fire is an Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Winner.

Enter for a chance to be one (1) of three (3) winners to receive a hardcover copy of Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore. (ARV: $18.99 each).

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on September 11, 2017 and 12:00 AM on October 9, 2017. Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about October 11, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Week One:
September 11 – Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style Files
September 11 – The Bookiemoji – Review
September 12 – Tales of the Ravenous Reader – Playlist
September 12 – Wandering Bark Books – Review
September 13 – Sarcasm & Lemons – Umbrellas Jane Would Make for YA Characters
September 13 – Arctic Books – Review
September 14 – Book Nerd Addicts – Review
September 14 – In Wonderland
September 15 – YA Book Central – Excerpt
September 15 – My Friends are Fiction – Promo
 
Week Two:
September 18 – YA Bibliophile – Review
September 18 – Across the Words – Umbrellas, A History
September 19 – The Eater of Books! – Mood Board
September 19 – NovelKnight
September 20 – Great Imaginations – Review
September 20 – The Wednesday Blog for Books – Review
September 21 – Icey BooksJane, Unlimited Quote Candy
September 21 – A Page With a View – Favorite Quotes
September 22 – A Thousand Books to Read – Review
September 22 – BookCrushin – Review
 
Week Three:
September 25 – Teen Librarian Toolbox
September 25 – The Young Folks – 10 Reasons to Read Jane, Unlimited
September 26 – Live Love Read – A Mood Board for Every Story
September 26 – No BS Book Reviews – Review
September 27 – Andi’s ABCs
September 27 – The Novel Hermit
September 28 – Paper Trail YA – Review
September 28 – Swoony Boys PodcastJane, Unlimited Fan Cast
September 29 – I Am A Reader
September 29 – Fiction Fare – Review
 
Week Four:
October 2 – Don’t Fold the Page
October 2 – Rants and Raves of a Bibliophile – Characters & Tea
October 3 – MuggleNet – Review
October 3 – Xpresso Reads – Top 10 Awesome Umbrellas
October 4 – The Book Wars – Review
October 4 – Once Upon a Twilight – Guess the Story in GIFs
October 5 – Mundie Moms – Review
October 5 – YA Romantics – Review & Quiz
October 6 – Bookworm Everlasting – Book Photography
October 6 – Here’s to Happy Endings – Bookish Style Board

 

Continue Reading

TBR – Upcoming Reads

I sometimes, all the time, get stressed out by the shear amount of books I own or want to read. It can be very overwhelming to look at all the options available to me. Because of this I often forget that I want to read something and then start something else. It is a vicious cycle and I try desperately to break it. I have yet to be successful but I still try. Will that being said there are 6 books that are high on my TBR priority list. Wonder how this will go.

 

TBR – Upcoming ReadsJane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
on September 19th 2017
Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLittle & Lion by Brandy Colbert
on August 8th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn't sure if she'll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new...the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel's disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself--or worse.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsWicked Sexy Liar (Wild Seasons, #4) by Christina Lauren
Published by Gallery Books
on February 2nd 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

When three college besties meet three hot guys in Vegas, anything can—and does—happen. Book Four in the New York Times Wild Seasons series that began with Sweet Filthy Boy (the Romantic Times book of the year that Sylvia Day called “a sexy, sweet treasure of a story”), Dirty Rowdy Thing, and Dark Wild Night.

For two people ambivalent about dating and love, they sure get naked around each other an awful lot . . .

London Hughes is very content to surf daily, tend bar, hang out with her group of friends, and slowly orient herself in the years after college. Everything’s going great and according to the non-plan.

But when a wave knocks her for a loop one morning, then Luke Sutter’s flirtatious smile knocks her for another that evening, she veers slightly off course…and into his path. Sure, he’s a total player, but the Why not—it’s only one night is a persistent voice in her ear.

For his part, Luke’s been on hookup autopilot for so long that he rarely ever pauses to consider what he’s doing. But after an amazing time with London, he realizes that he hasn’t been moving on from a devastating heartbreak so much as he’s been drifting to wherever—and whomever—the current takes him. With London he wants more.

Every relationship involves two people…plus their pasts. And as much as she enjoys her fling with Luke, when London learns about his past—more specifically, who’s in it—everything becomes the brand of complicated she strives to avoid. It’s up to Luke then to change some things in order to try and ensure he’s not something she’ll outright avoid as well.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsLove Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington
Published by Tor Teen
on April 24th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsThe Knowing (The Forgetting, #2) by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press
on October 10th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Samara doesn't forget. And she isn't the only one. Safe underground in the city of New Canaan, she lives in a privileged world free from the Forgetting. Yet she wonders if she really is free, with the memories that plague her and secrets that surround her. Samara is determined to unearth the answers, even if she must escape to the old, cursed city of Canaan to find them.

Someone else is on their way to Canaan too . . . a spaceship from Earth is heading toward the planet, like a figment of the city's forgotten past. Beck is traveling with his parents, researchers tasked with finding the abandoned settlement effort. When Beck is stranded without communication, he will find more in Canaan than he was ever trained for. What will happen when worlds and memories, beliefs -- and truths -- collide?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

TBR – Upcoming ReadsReign the Earth (The Elementae, #1) by A.C. Gaughen
Published by Bloomsbury
on January 30th 2018
Amazon, Goodreads

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarlet will hold readers spellbound.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What’s coming up on you TBR? Have you read any of these?

Continue Reading

Book Must Reads – BookCon

In my post on Tuesday you saw the picture of the books I got a BookCon and the Penguin Teen breakfast. There were not a whole lot, but there were definite some I am super excited about. Out of the 8 in the photo there were 3 that really sparked my interest. One of them will come as no surprise (also I technically didn’t get it at BookCon, a friend grabbed it at BEA and I just finished it), one I’m not sure is me but the author was so passionate about it that I now want to read it, and the last one is a book that was described by the author in a way that was so cool I’m really excited for it.

So here are 3 books that stood out to me when I was in NYC:

Book Must Reads – BookConThere's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins
Published by Dutton Books for Young Readers
on September 26th 2017
Goodreads

Scream meets YA in this hotly-anticipated new novel from the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss.

One-by-one, the students of Osborne High are dying in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted.

International bestselling author Stephanie Perkins returns with a fresh take on the classic teen slasher story that’s fun, quick-witted, and completely impossible to put down.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book Must Reads – BookConWarcross by Marie Lu
on September 12th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Book Must Reads – BookConJane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore
Published by Kathy Dawson Books
on September 19th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Jane has lived an ordinary life, raised by her aunt Magnolia—an adjunct professor and deep sea photographer. Jane counted on Magnolia to make the world feel expansive and to turn life into an adventure. But Aunt Magnolia was lost a few months ago in Antarctica on one of her expeditions.

Now, with no direction, a year out of high school, and obsessed with making umbrellas that look like her own dreams (but mostly just mourning her aunt), she is easily swept away by Kiran Thrash—a glamorous, capricious acquaintance who shows up and asks Jane to accompany her to a gala at her family's island mansion called Tu Reviens.

Jane remembers her aunt telling her: "If anyone ever invites to you to Tu Reviens, promise me that you'll go." With nothing but a trunkful of umbrella parts to her name, Jane ventures out to the Thrash estate. Then her story takes a turn, or rather, five turns. What Jane doesn't know is that Tu Reviens will offer her choices that can ultimately determine the course of her untethered life. But at Tu Reviens, every choice comes with a reward, or a price.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Did you go to BEA or BookCon? Find any exciting books? Are you excited for any of these three?

Continue Reading