To Be Reviewed (1)

Like any blogger I have a mountain long list of books that I have loved and have yet to review. Some of these books I read last year which means I need a reread before I write my review because we all know there is no way I remember the things I need to remember. Everyday I look at this list and think I should just write some of them and then I get overwhelmed by the number and decide to read a new book. Currently my list has about 15-17 books on it which in hindsight isn’t that bad considering, but it still stresses me out.

Honestly it is the series and the 5 star reads that give me the most trouble. I just never know what to say about a series that won’t spoil the other books and for the 5 star standalones I just have no words to describe perfect a lot of the time.

Anyway, here are 6 of my top books I have yet to reviewed that were some of my favorites:

To Be Reviewed (1)A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on May 2nd 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on April 4th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he's trying to escape the demons of his past.

When Declan reads a haunting letter left beside a grave, he can't resist writing back. Soon, he's opening up to a perfect stranger, and their connection is immediate. But neither Declan nor Juliet knows that they're not actually strangers. When life at school interferes with their secret life of letters, sparks will fly as Juliet and Declan discover truths that might tear them apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)When We Collided by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
on May 16th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.

Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she's told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels' household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it's not long before Vivi's zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking.

Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah's love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn't enough?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens
Published by HarperTeen
on November 3rd 2015
Amazon, Goodreads

Sadie Kingston, is a girl living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can’t move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent’s brother, Max.

As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she's unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him — even if Max is able to look at her scars and not shy away. But when the truth about the accident and subsequent events comes to light, Sadie has to decide if she can embrace the future or if she'll always be trapped in the past.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Published by Bloomsbury Children's Books
on September 6th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

KINGDOMS WILL COLLIDE.

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius as war looms on the horizon. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don't.

With her heart sworn to the warrior-prince by her side, and her fealty pledged to the people she is determined to save, Aelin will delve into the depths of her power to protect those she loves. But as monsters emerge from the horrors of the past, and dark forces become poised to claim her world, the only chance for salvation will lie in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

In this breathtaking fifth installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, Aelin will have to choose what—and who—to sacrifice if she's to keep the world of Erilea from breaking apart.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To Be Reviewed (1)The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen #2
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on April 5th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How do you manage to keep you book review numbers down? How long is your To Be Reviewed list? Talk to me!

Continue Reading

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)

I have been trying to be so good when it comes to requesting ARCs or downloading eGalleys. I have stuck to my “only buying Kindle books” ban since last fall which has been nice (not that I haven’t added any physical books to my collection, but I haven’t bought any). But then there was a recent drop of available books on Edelweiss and I saw all the new shiny and I just couldn’t help myself.

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller
Published by HarperCollins
on June 27th 2017
Amazon, Goodreads

Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.

These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.

When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)16 Ways to Break A Heart by Lauren Strasnick
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
Amazon, Goodreads

Natalie and Dan were electric from the moment they met. Witty banter and sizzling chemistry made falling in love easy—even inevitable. He was in awe of her subversive art and contagious zest for life; she was drawn to his good-guy charm and drive to succeed as a documentary filmmaker.

But that was before. Before hot tempers turned to blowout fights. Before a few little lies turned to broken trust. Before a hundred tiny slights broke them open and exposed the ugly truth of their relationship.

And now Natalie wants Dan to know just how much he broke her.

Over the course of one fateful day, Dan reads sixteen letters that Natalie has secretly, brilliantly hidden in places only he will find. And as he pieces together her version of their love story, he realizes that she has one final message for him. One that might just send his carefully constructed life tumbling down.

Unfolding through letters, texts, and chats, Lauren Strasnick’s smart, sexy, page-turning new novel is the ultimate he said/she said breakdown of a relationship gone wrong.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)Changes in Latitudes by Jen Malone
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

A "road" trip romance that takes place at sea!

All Cassie wants is to get some solid ground under her feet following the shock of her parents' divorce. So when she learns of her mom's plans to take Cassie and her brother, Drew, on a four-month sailing trip from Oregon to Mexico, she's stunned. There is absolutely nothing solid about the Pacific Ocean.

Cassie is furious. And nervous. It's been hard enough keeping Drew sheltered from what Cassie knows about her mother's role in breaking their family apart, but living in such close quarters threatens to push her anger past its tipping point. Enter Jonah, a whip-smart deckhand who's as gorgeous as he is flirtatious. Cassie tries to keep him at a distance, but the more time they spend together--wandering San Francisco, riding beachside roller coasters, and exploring the California coastline--the harder it is to fight the attraction.

​Cassie wants to let herself go, but her parents' split has left her feeling adrift in a sea of questions she can't even begin to answer. Can she forgive her mom? Will home ever feel the same? Should she take a chance on Jonah? With life's unpredictable tides working against her, Cassie must decide whether to swim against them... or dive right in.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)How To Disappear by Sharon Huss Roat
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

Vicky Decker has perfected the art of hiding in plain sight, quietly navigating the halls of her high school undetected except by her best (and only) friend, Jenna. But when Jenna moves away, Vicky’s isolation becomes unbearable.

So she decides to invent a social life by Photoshopping herself into other people’s pictures, posting them on Instagram under the screen name Vicurious. Instantly, she begins to get followers, so she adds herself to more photos from all over the world with all types of people. And as Vicurious’s online followers multiply, Vicky realizes she can make a whole life for herself without ever leaving her bedroom. But the more followers she finds online, the clearer it becomes that there are a lot of people out there who feel like her— #alone and #ignored in real life.

To help them, and herself, Vicky must find the courage to face her fear of being “seen,” because only then can she stop living vicariously and truly bring the magic of Vicurious to life.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)This Is How It Happened by Paula Stokes
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

Somehow I’ve become a liar. A coward. Here’s how it happened.

When Genevieve Grace wakes up from a coma, she can’t remember the car crash that injured her and killed her boyfriend Dallas, a YouTube star who had just released his first album. Genevieve knows she was there, and that there was another driver, a man named Brad Freeman, who everyone assumes is guilty. But as she slowly pieces together the night of the accident, Genevieve is hit with a sickening sense of dread—that maybe she had something to do with what happened.

As the internet rages against Brad Freeman, condemning him in a brutal trial by social media, Genevieve escapes to her father’s house, where she can hide from reporters and spend the summer volunteering in beautiful Zion National Park. But she quickly realizes that she can’t run away from the accident, or the terrible aftermath of it all.

Incredibly thought-provoking and beautifully told, Paula Stokes’s story will compel readers to examine the consequences of making mistakes in a world where the internet is always watching…and judging.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On My Radar – Recently Downloaded (6)These Things I've Done by Rebecca Phillips
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

Before:
Dara and Aubrey have been inseparable since they became best friends in sixth grade. However, as they begin their sophomore year of high school, cracks in their friendship begin to form, testing the bond they always thought was unbreakable.

After:
It's been fifteen months since the accident that killed Aubrey, and not a day goes by that Dara isn't racked with guilt over her role in her best friend's death. Dara thought nothing could be worse than confronting the memories of Aubrey that relentlessly haunt her, but she soon realizes it isn't half as difficult as seeing Ethan, Aubrey's brother, every day. Not just because he's a walking reminder of what she did, but because the more her feelings for him change, the more she knows she's betraying her best friend one final time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What books have you recently added to your collection?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Continue Reading

Blog Tour – The Mirror King by Jodi Meadow: The ABCs (+ a Giveaway)

 

Today on the blog tour for The Mirror King I have Jodi Meadows guest posting The ABCs for Wilhelmina.  Wil is a pretty straightforward girl that has some items that you know are her as soon as you see them. Welcome Jodi (and by extension, Wil) to the blog.

wil

Accessory: Daggers.
I mean, Wilhelmina already has daggers, but what girl doesn’t need more weapons? Wil’s current daggers are perfectly serviceable, and she’s pretty attached to them, given all they’ve been through together, but if she were to have new daggers, perhaps they’d have fine ebony hilts, some sort of design etched into the tang and up into the blade. It would, perhaps, be ospreys in flight. Oh, and they’d be sharp.

Book: A new blank notebook.
Wil likes to read, sure, but she also likes to write. And by write, I mean she likes to steal handwriting and practice using it. Why not in a nice notebook? But Wil also keeps a diary, and the one she’s been using since she was young is getting pretty full. She deserves a new one after all this time. The main requirement for this is that the notebook have really nice paper. Wilhelmina is definitely a paper snob.

Clothes: A cloak.
So, the cloak on the cover of THE ORPHAN QUEEN was never actually in the book. And on THE MIRROR KING cover there are two cloaks, so in THE MIRROR KING I actually do give Wil a cloak. Clearly she wanted one. But for sneaking purposes, rather than cover purposes, Wil would probably like a black or dark gray cloak. Something to help her blend into the night.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog Tour – The Mirror King by Jodi Meadow: The ABCs (+ a Giveaway)The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Series: The Orphan Queen,
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on April 5th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies.

HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed during the Inundation, Princess Wilhelmina is kept prisoner by the Indigo Kingdom, with the Ospreys lost somewhere in the devastated city. When the Ospreys’ leader emerges at the worst possible moment, leaving Wil’s biggest ally on his deathbed, she must become Black Knife to set things right.

HER MAGIC IS UNCONTROLLABLE. Wil’s power is to animate, not to give true life, but in the wraithland she commanded a cloud of wraith mist to save herself, and later ordered it solid. Now there is a living boy made of wraith—destructive and deadly, and willing to do anything for her.

HER HEART IS TORN. Though she’s ready for her crown, declaring herself queen means war. Caught between what she wants and what is right, Wilhelmina realizes the throne might not even matter. Everyone thought the wraith was years off, but already it’s destroying Indigo Kingdom villages. If she can’t protect both kingdoms, soon there won’t be a land to rule.

In this stunning conclusion to THE ORPHAN QUEEN, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.

FIND IT: GOODREADS || AMAZON || BARNES & NOBLE || INDIEBOUND || BOOK DEPOSITORY

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows lives and writes in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, with her husband, a Kippy*, and an alarming number of ferrets. She is a confessed book addict, and has wanted to be a writer ever since she decided against becoming an astronaut. She is the author of the INCARNATE Trilogy and the forthcoming ORPHAN QUEEN Duology (HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen).

*A Kippy is a cat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There will be a tour-wide giveaway for one (1) copy of The Orphan Queen + one (1) copy of The Mirror King for one lucky winner! The giveaway will be open internationally, as long as Book Depository ships to them.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: The ABCs with Denver from The Lifeboat Clique (Kathy Parks)

lbc

Today we have a special edition of The ABCs brought to you by Kathy Parks for her character Denver in her new book The Lifeboat Clique. Make sure you read all the way to the end to enter the giveaway.

Hi, it’s Denver Reynolds from The Lifeboat Clique. You know my shopping needs changed drastically once a tsunami washed me out to sea.

denver

For example, accessories.

When attempting to avoid the glare of both the sun and your ex-best friend, try these polarized Fisherman sunglasses:

https://www.costadelmar.com/shop/sunglasses/saltbreak/16554?gclid=CPnV94Sy-8oCFVGAaQodApoHVw

I know they’re super expensive but a water-deprived, hallucinating girl at sea can dream, can’t she?

As for books, this book on survival comes in very handy during times like these, and it’s very entertaining and fascinating to read:

http://www.bookpeople.com/search/site/deep%20survival

But no enforced sea vacation after an act of God would be complete without this valuable piece of clothing with an SPF of 50 to keep your skin from burning. Yes, it’s a little loud but it helps when you’re trying to attract passing ships:

http://tinyurl.com/jzkcgze

Thanks so much, and tell the Coast Guard I said hello!
Denver

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Blog Tour: The ABCs with Denver from The Lifeboat Clique (Kathy Parks)The Lifeboat Clique by Kathy Parks, Kathy Hepinstall
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on March 1st 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Some people might say that Denver had a death wish. Why else would she have dared to sneak into a Malibu beach party where she’d be surrounded by enemies, namely including her ex-BFF Abigail?

Oh yeah. Croix. Denver never thought in a million years he’d ask her out, but who was she to question this miracle of fate? Well, that wasn’t the only surprise fate had in store.

During the party a tsunami hit the coast of California, wiping out everything in its path. Denver and a handful of others escaped death by holding onto the roof of the house and were swept out to sea. Of course, one of her fellow castaways was none other than Abigail, who could barely stand the sight of her.

Now that she’s floating in the ocean, stuck on a small boat with the most popular kids in school and waiting to be rescued, Denver wonders what might kill her first-dehydration, sunstroke, or the girl she used to think of as a sister?

A hilariously dark and twisted story that sparkles with a remarkably fresh voice, The Lifeboat Clique is Kathy Park’s irreverent yet insightful novel about how to survive in the most unthinkable circumstances.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | The Book Depository

About Kathy Parks

Hi, I’m Kathy Parks, author of The Lifeboat Clique. (Katherine Tegen Books, March 1 2016)

It’s about Denver Reynolds, an outcast at her high school, who ends up in a lifeboat with the popular kids who hate her.

It’s Mean Girls meets Life of Pi!

I live near the beach in Carpinteria, California with my husband and two cats.

I love questions and meeting other authors.

Hope you’ll check out The Lifeboat Clique!

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
3/3: Andi’s ABCs – ABC Post

 

Week 2:

3 Finished Copies of THE LIFEBOAT CLIQUE (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: Shade Me Rainbow Blitz | My Favorite Blue Things (Giveaway)

banner

When I was given my the color for the Shade Me Rainbow Blitz tour I was so super excited. Blue is totally my jam. I seriously love the color blue. I wear it a lot (in the summer especially) and I love that there are so many shades of it. Honestly I had trouble narrowing down my favorite blue things but here you go:

blue

  1. Anchor Pattern: I love my anchors. You must all know this by now. I have a ton of anchor pattern summer items that I got at J Crew and J Crew Factory that I am basically obsessed with. Hmm…is it summer yet?
  2. Julian Edelman jersey: I just got this for Christmas and I’m in love. Not only with the player but the fit and that my favorite team’s color is blue so total win.
  3. Chanel Blue Satin nail polish: This is such a gorgeous blue. It was given to me as a gift a few years back and I love it. The color can look go different in some lights.
  4. J Crew/J Crew Factory ballet flats: Yup, I own a pair of blue suede shoes. I bought them at either J Crew of J Crew Factory (I can’t remember) and I love them. They are so comfy. I need to start wearing them more.
  5. Cotton Candy Ice Cream: You can find this ice cream in a variety of colors but I do love the blue cotton candy ice cream best. Yum. Now I want ice cream.
  6. Blue Washi Tape: I’m a washi tape fanatic so I would use this for any color.
  7. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler: Okay so the book isn’t totally blue but when I think of it I imagine the blue sea glass cover. So to me it’s clue enough for this. Side note…read the book if you haven’t!
  8. Santorini, Greece: This is my dream location for a trip. I hope to go the year I turn 40, but we will see. I fell in love with the idea of Greece from the blue roof tops and the blue water.
  9. Blueberries: Some will say they are purple but I will say they are blue…and they are delicious. I love them in an ice cold blueberry beer.

*pictures all found on google and do not belong to me.

Blog Tour: Shade Me Rainbow Blitz | My Favorite Blue Things (Giveaway)Shade Me by Jennifer Brown
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
on January 19th 2016
Amazon, Goodreads

Nikki Kill does not see the world like everyone else. In her eyes, happiness is pink, sadness is a mixture of brown and green, and lies are gray. Thanks to a rare phenomenon called synesthesia, Nikki’s senses overlap, in a way that both comforts and overwhelms her.

Always an outsider, just one ‘D’ shy of flunking out, Nikki’s life is on the fast track to nowhere until the night a mysterious call lights her phone up bright orange—the color of emergencies. It’s the local hospital. They need Nikki to identify a Jane Doe who is barely hanging on to life after a horrible attack.

The victim is Peyton Hollis, a popular girl from Nikki’s school who Nikki hardly knows. One thing is clear: Someone wants Peyton dead. But why? And why was Nikki’s cell the only number in Peyton’s phone?

As she tries to decipher the strange kaleidoscope of clues, Nikki finds herself thrust into the dark, glittering world of the ultra-rich Hollis family, and drawn towards Peyton’s handsome, never-do-well older brother Dru. While Nikki’s colors seem to help her unravel the puzzle, what she can’t see is that she may be falling into a trap. The only truth she can be sure of is that death is a deep, pulsing crimson.

LINKS: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | The Book Depository

~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Jennifer Brown

Two-time winner of the Erma Bombeck Global Humor Award (2005 & 2006), Jennifer's weekly humor column appeared in The Kansas City Star for over four years, until she gave it up to be a full-time young adult novelist.

Jennifer's debut novel, HATE LIST (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2009) received three starred reviews and was selected as an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, a VOYA "Perfect Ten," and a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year. HATE LIST also won the Michigan Library Association's Thumbs Up! Award, the Louisiana Teen Readers Choice award, the 2012 Oklahoma Sequoyah Book Award, was an honorable mention for the 2011 Arkansas Teen Book Award, is a YALSA 2012 Popular Paperback, received spots on the Texas Library Association's Taysha's high school reading list as well as the Missouri Library Association's Missouri Gateway Awards list, and has been chosen to represent the state of Missouri in the 2012 National Book Festival in Washington, DC. Jennifer's second novel, BITTER END, (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2011) received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and VOYA and is listed on the YALSA 2012 Best Fiction for Young Adults list and is a 2012 Taysha's high school reading list pick as well.

Jennifer writes and lives in the Kansas City, Missouri area, with her husband and three children.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tour Schedule:

1/17:  That Artsy Reader Girl – Red
1/18:  Lisa Loves Lit – Orange
1/19:  Avid Reader – Yellow
1/20:  Book Scents – Green
1/21:  Andi’s ABCs – Blue
1/22:  Fiery Reads – Indigo
1/23:  Such A Novel Idea – Violet

US ONLY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Continue Reading