Reading Goal

In January I look forward to setting my Goodread reading goal. Some years I have read my face off and have been super successful and some years I am an epic failure. This year I have fallen just around my goal which makes me super happy.

I had wanted to read 125 books in 2016 and I am just 7 away with a month to go. Totally a doable task I think. But that leaves me trying to figure out what books I want to end my year with. Well, these 7 have made the list (baring anything I’m dying for to show up in my mailbox or on Edelweiss or Netgalley)

Reading GoalHow to Break a Boy by Laurie Devore
Published by Imprint
Amazon, Goodreads

Keep your enemies close, but your friends closer.

Olivia Clayton has mastered the art of tearing others down to stay on top. She and her best friend, Adrienne, rule their small southern town like all good mean girls do--through intimidation and manipulation.
After Olivia suffers a family tragedy and catches Adrienne sleeping with her boyfriend, Olivia is over it. She decides to make a change--but it's impossible to resist taking Adrienne down one last time. Up to her old tricks, Olivia convinces golden boy Whit DuRant to be her SAT tutor and her fake boyfriend. But when it starts to feel real, Whit gets caught up in Olivia and Adrienne's war.

Olivia may ruin everything she touches, but this time she won't go down without a fight--not if it means losing Whit.

And definitely not if it means losing what's left of herself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalHard Hitter by Sarina Bowen
Published by Berkley Books
Amazon, Goodreads

From the USA Today bestselling author of Rookie Move comes the second novel in the series that s hot enough to melt the ice.

He s a fighter in the rink, but he s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...

As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team s massage therapist. After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good..."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalRules of Contact (Play-by-Play #12) by Jaci Burton
Published by Berkley
Amazon, Goodreads

In the new Play-By-Play novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Unexpected Rush, a football player who knows how to win on the field needs a better game plan for his love life.

A defensive end for the San Francisco Sabers, Flynn Cassidy is used to being in the spotlight—he just doesn’t enjoy it. But if getting in front of the cameras will help his new restaurant succeed, he’s willing. Now if he could just meet a woman who loved him and not his fame…

After her divorce, Amelia Lawrence is thrilled to start over as head chef at Ninety-Two. It’s just the opportunity she needs to heat up her career—if only she wasn’t wildly attracted to her sexy new boss. Their chemistry might be sizzling hot, but Amelia has no intention of being burned again.

Flynn can’t get enough of Amelia, and Amelia loves every second she spends with the tough yet tender Flynn. But trust is a hard-fought battle for both. Breaking the rules of contact and surrendering to their passion was the easy part. Are they willing to risk their hearts to win at the game of love?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalWait for Me by Caroline Leech
Published by HarperTeen
Amazon, Goodreads

The perfect blend of sweet romance and historical flavor, Wait for Me, from debut author Caroline Leech, brings a fresh new voice to a much-loved genre.

It’s 1945, and Lorna Anderson’s life on her father’s farm in Scotland consists of endless chores and rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves, and praying for an Allied victory. So when Paul Vogel, a German prisoner of war, is assigned as the new farmhand, Lorna is appalled. How can she possibly work alongside the enemy when her own brothers are risking their lives for their country?

But as Lorna reluctantly spends time with Paul, she feels herself changing. The more she learns about him—from his time in the war to his life back home in Germany—the more she sees the boy behind the soldier. Soon Lorna is battling her own warring heart. Loving Paul could mean losing her family and the life she’s always known. With tensions rising all around them, Lorna must decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice before the end of the war determines their fate.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalFireworks by Katie Cotugno
Published by Balzer + Bray
Amazon, Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How to Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel—all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalThe Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Amazon, Goodreads

Trixie Watson has two very important goals for senior year: to finally save enough to buy the set of Doctor Who figurines at the local comic books store, and to place third in her class and knock Ben West--and his horrendous new mustache that he spent all summer growing--down to number four.

Trixie will do anything to get her name ranked over Ben's, including give up sleep and comic books--well, maybe not comic books--but definitely sleep. After all, the war of Watson v. West is as vicious as the Doctor v. Daleks and Browncoats v. Alliance combined, and it goes all the way back to the infamous monkey bars incident in the first grade. Over a decade later, it's time to declare a champion once and for all.

The war is Trixie's for the winning, until her best friend starts dating Ben's best friend and the two are unceremoniously dumped together and told to play nice. Finding common ground is odious and tooth-pullingly-painful, but Trixie and Ben's cautious truce slowly transforms into a fandom-based tentative friendship. When Trixie's best friend gets expelled for cheating and Trixie cries foul play, however, they have to choose who to believe and which side they're on--and they might not pick the same side.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reading GoalHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5) by J.K. Rowling, Mary GrandPré
Published by Scholastic Inc.
Amazon, Goodreads

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected...
Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How did you do on your reading goal?

You may also like

4 Comments

  1. Yay for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix! I love that you’re continuing your read of this series. Also, I definitely think you’ll enjoy The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You. That book is so fun!

  2. You know, it’s funny: every year I tell myself I’m going to take it easier, go slower, and not put so much pressure on myself to read x amount of books. …and each year I end up reading even more. My goal for this year was 100 books and I’m currently at 174! I’m hoping to get to 200 by the end of the year

    Those Jaci Burton novels… I haven’t yet read one, but for some strange reason they keep catching my eye 😀

    I’m curious to see your thoughts on Wait for Me! I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not I want to read it now or wait a bit. It’s totally a me novel though.

    Oh man, The Only Thing is EXCELLENT! Like, one of my top reads of the year excellent!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge